Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Was really excited about this recipe. Made as written except put all the custard ingrediants (with bananas) in blender. Had banana taste throughout...but neither my husband or i really cared for it overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Love it and so versatile! I add nilla wafer crumbs and chocolate covered fruit at times. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great very good. Used 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made the recipe with 1/2 cup of sugar and still found it very sweet. Next time I will either use 1/4 cup or omit it altogether. This recipe was well received by guests although they all commented it was a bit too sweet. I made it in ramekins set in a roaster with dish towel and water. Took the hour to bake.... I would certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I don't like bread pudding, but this was amazing! Due to my french bread being fresh, I toasted it a bit beforehand. I also did only 1/3 a cup of sugar (coconut crystals actually) and half a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips. I also did only 1 banana, and next time might actually prefer to mash it with the cream instead of having chunks. Served it with vanilla ice cream on top! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Very tasty but I did mash the bananas before adding them and added a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon. I only sprinkled maybe half the amount of the chocolate chips on top of the pudding before baking, we thought it was sweet enough and didn't need more chips. I will definitely make again especially with old bread left over and ripe bananas- this is the perfect solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was yummy! I mashed the bananas up and added them to the milk/egg mixture along with 1t of cinnamon and 1/4t of nutmeg. Also, when putting this together I put half the bread mixture in the pan topped with white and semi-sweet chocolate chips added the rest of the bread mixture and topped again with the white and semi-sweet chocolate chips. I did not measure the chocolate chips, I just used a handful on each layer. Also, I did not do the water bath, just put the loaf pan in the oven and it took exactly 60 minutes, the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Followed this recipe's ingredient amounts exactly. Used a whole wheat french loaf. I mushed up the bananas a little. It's the right amount of sweet and flavor. My boyfriend loved it. I would let the mixture sit a little longer than 5 minutes for it all to absorb and let the flavors mingle. Overall-- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was fantastic. I did cut the sugar quantity down to 2/3 a cup but it was still so great. I didn't cook it in a water bath, I just baked it for the hour and covered with foil half way through to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I gave this recipe a 3/5 rating as a good base recipe but I also did not follow it exactly. What I learned about this site is that most of the recipes can be tweaked to your liking for a better result. Many of the recipes that I followed exactly were a bit disappointing. What changed was I used mini chocolate chips instead of the standard size. I also used 3 small bananas and decreased the sugar amt to 2\3 c. I also added some nutmeg and cinnamon to taste. In the directions, it says to cut the bananas up and mix them in, however I pureed the bananas in a blender until smooth and then added eggs, milk, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg to the mix. While mixture combined, I put the bread pieces in the baking pan and then when the liquid was ready, poured the banana mix over the bread. I sprinkled some chocolate chips over the mix and let set for 5-10 min then baked. The banana pudding came out awesome! Not too sweet and every bite had a little banana taste. I would recommend blending the bananas in a blender first so as to get a smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States