Chocolate Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
excellent, but way too rich. eat a teaspoon at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I just didn't care for these that much. Edible, but not something I'd bother repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
For some reason the peanut butter mixture would not stick together to form balls. I don't understand why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Tastey! Easy but somewhat messy. Next time I will make some minor changes, such as line the storage container with wax paper, before I start dipping the cookies. Use a toothpick to dip the cookie in melted chocolate. Then put the cookie on the wax paper. I needed to put mine in the fridge to set, so it got a little messy transferring the cookies... but a very good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Maybe my kids didn't make these right or they were just not to my taste. Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I wish I would've read past reviews before I attempted making these. They were very good but didn't make very many because of all the peanut butter that stuck to my hands. Next time I'll know better and put the balls in the freezer before dipping them in chocolate. It also took a long time for the chocolate to harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Fantastic! I used natural peanut butter for the inside and a mixyure of semi-sweet and milk chocolate chips for the coating. Also, I microwaved the chocolate coating as was suggested by an earlier reiewer. I also froze them which was great - it made dipping them better. Also I just dunked the balls in the hcocolate and lifted them out with a fork. I could do 5 at a time this way and they still turned out looking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
These are soooo tasty. A few tricks that were helpful: 1. Freeze the pbutter balls before dipping - not solid but an hour in the freezer worked great for me. The kitchen was warm and so were my hands - without the freezing, the balls were too mushy to really dip. 2. Use toothpicks to dip the balls in the chocolate (which I had no probs with). This creates a small pinprick size hole at the top, which I covered with a small dot of chocolate - the perfect topper! Everyone loves these - they are disappearing out of the freezer before the holidays even begin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Step #1 goes smoothly. Step #2 for me was a disaster. After adding the shortening to the chocolate, the ingredients turned to sludge. Fortunately, I have a friend who makes these, and she gave me her recipe for the dipping mixture and the end result was fantastic. Melt 2 cups of choc. chips with 2 tbsp. veg. oil in microwave on high for one minute. Stir and microwave for 30 seconds more. An additional 15 seconds might be required. Dip the balls as instructed in the last sentence of Step #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I made this recipe as a cookie exchange for the holidays. Instead of using the semi-sweet chocolate i used chocolate candy melts which I already had. It came out great. Tastes better than peanut butter cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States