Chocolate Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Amazing! Just Amazing. These are super quick to make and super duper yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss V
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Not bad. Make sure the graham crackers are finely crushed thoroughly. I'm not a huge fan of semi-sweet chocolate and is probably the reason why I rated it 3 stars. I probably won't make this exact recipe again, if I do I'll change it up in some way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Following the other comments here about refrigerating the mixture before you dip the balls and using powdered sugar on your fingers to keep the balls from sticking to them was very helpful. I thought these tasted great and will definitely make them again. I discovered a few other things while I made this. -I had plenty of graham crackers so I didn't buy graham cracker crumbs. I used Honey Maid Graham Crackers and crushed them myself. 1 cup is 5 sheets (largest rectangles). Put them into a ziploc bag and break them against the counter with the sides of your fists. Then, I was requested to make a recipe that was peanut-free, so came up with the following solution instead of using peanut butter: -4 tbsp unsalted butter -half a bag of marshmallows (total of 4oz) -melt in microwave for 3 min on 60% power, mixing half way through -mix this into the graham cracker crumb and sugar mixture -use graham cracker and sugar mixture to pick up the tacky pieces and form them into balls. If you coat your fingers with the graham cracker crumbs and sugar, you can make little balls without everything getting too sticky And for both types of balls, whether I made peanut butter ones or marshmallow ones, I had a hard time keeping them on a fork or a toothpick when I dipped them. So I would put a few balls into the melted chocolate, spoon chocolate on top of them and then remove them with rubber tipped tongs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
very tasty!! even better if you add a touch of coconut to them!! followed recipe exactly and only made about 25.... overall, very yummy recipe and will make in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I used to make these every Christmas. One year, when I forgot to buy graham crackers, I crushed rice krispies as a substitute, and found we prefer them. My recipe also added coconut to the filling, which I loved, but the kids hated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
A big hit! For a tasty twist, substitute Nutella chocolate hazelnut spread for the peanut butter - heavenly. :) As noted by others, you are best to pop the balls in the freezer while waiting for the chocolate to melt. Back in the freezer to set once done. These are a breeze to make...and disappear just as fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These were really good and very easy to make. I had no problem with them setting up or the chocolate. I will say one thing, for those who don't bake that often. I often make things coated in chocolate. In the winter months, they set up within an hour and they set up beautifully. However...during the summer months, I find that the chocolate needs to be allowed to set up for 24 hours. So, if done during the summer, make them 24 hours before you need them and you should be fine. But they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
this was a huge success over the holidays. I made a bunch of them and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
***VEGAN APPROVED!***This is a great, easy recipe! I used rice crispies instead of graham crackers to make it GLUTEN FREE for a guest and everyone loved them! I also didn't have baking squares of chocolate but it made no difference, I just used the chocolate chips and shortening. Afterwards I covered them in different toppings like coconut and walnut! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBENDER85

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I liked these, they tasted similar to reeses cups. I used natural peanut butter, they were easy to shape, and were not to sticky. I would make these again, but instead of using semi- sweet chocolate I would use milk chocolate. I melted the chocolate in the microwave with some oil like others suggested and it turned out great. I made my balls quite small, (about 1/2 golf ball but bigger then a marble) and the ratio of chocolate to insides seemed good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States