Chocolate Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katt64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Easton, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
this recipe was AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I liked this cake and gave one to a friend of mine and she loved it also. Maybe top it with a little ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara_H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: North Springfield, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Love the crispy sugar crust that forms!!! A little crumbly, but surprisingly moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I gave this cake five stars because my family loved it! I have never had a real Babka before so I could not tell you if it's like one, but I can tell you this is a great cake! I did make a few changes to suit how I cook. Insead of the sour cream I used coconut milk, and instead of the unsweetened cocoa powder I used Ghirardelli all natural sweet ground chocolate and cocoa powder, and i also substiuted Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips for the semisweet chocolate chips. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
the closed thing to a chocolate cloud!!! i love it. it is soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beary34

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Turned out great! I followed someone else's lead and put a whole tub of sour cream in, and added some mini-chocolate chips in the batter, and it came out so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
It is soooo good. I ran out of sugar, so I only used a total of 1 c and used 2 jumbo eggs. Still came out beautiful! It is moist, has a soft texture, and definitely easy. Might have gone overboard with cinnamon, but that's my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Really good treat. Made this during the holiday and my family was pleasantly surprised with it. "gone within 60 seconds"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Just made this. Also added an extra 1/4 cup sour cream (was nervous of it being dry) and put some chocolate chips in the dough. I would suggest using confectioners sugar for the topping, that is what I have used in the past when I have made a real babka, and it's much easier to dust/stick along the top/eat! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States