Chocolate Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katt64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Easton, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
this recipe was AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I liked this cake and gave one to a friend of mine and she loved it also. Maybe top it with a little ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara_H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: North Springfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Love the crispy sugar crust that forms!!! A little crumbly, but surprisingly moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I gave this cake five stars because my family loved it! I have never had a real Babka before so I could not tell you if it's like one, but I can tell you this is a great cake! I did make a few changes to suit how I cook. Insead of the sour cream I used coconut milk, and instead of the unsweetened cocoa powder I used Ghirardelli all natural sweet ground chocolate and cocoa powder, and i also substiuted Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips for the semisweet chocolate chips. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
the closed thing to a chocolate cloud!!! i love it. it is soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beary34

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Turned out great! I followed someone else's lead and put a whole tub of sour cream in, and added some mini-chocolate chips in the batter, and it came out so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
It is soooo good. I ran out of sugar, so I only used a total of 1 c and used 2 jumbo eggs. Still came out beautiful! It is moist, has a soft texture, and definitely easy. Might have gone overboard with cinnamon, but that's my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Really good treat. Made this during the holiday and my family was pleasantly surprised with it. "gone within 60 seconds"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Just made this. Also added an extra 1/4 cup sour cream (was nervous of it being dry) and put some chocolate chips in the dough. I would suggest using confectioners sugar for the topping, that is what I have used in the past when I have made a real babka, and it's much easier to dust/stick along the top/eat! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States