Chocolate Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is a great recipe! After reading other reviews, I decided to add an extra 1/4 cup sour cream, and an additional 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I baked it 15 minutes longer (after covering w/foil) & it turned out moist, chocolatey & delicious. My husband loved it! I will certainly make it again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2000
I have made this cake several times and is one of my favorites. This rich, moist cake has a wonderful cinnamon and chocolate flavor. (The batter is really good too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2000
A fantastic receipe that I've made twice in a week! Devoured both times. It took a while to work out what a "tube tin' was 'cause In Australia it's a ring tin!!Searching for a babka recipe was inspired by a similar predicament to Elaine and Jerry (Seinfeld)......to bring the wine or the babka!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2000
Delicious! I used fat free sour cream and margarine instead of butter in an effort to shave off a few grams of fat/calories. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
Excellent cake. The whole family loved it and it was great with coffee/tea. I loved the chocolate chips and nuts in it because it adds a nice texture. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
I brought this into work and it was gone in seconds. The cinamon flavor really makes this outstanding. Be careful not to burn the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAH243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Not like the bakery babkas I remember other than the combination of nuts, cinnamon and chocolate, but really really good anyway. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Great for my birthday cake, made by mom. She was skeptical because the batter was so thick, but it's quite wonderful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
It is soooo good. I ran out of sugar, so I only used a total of 1 c and used 2 jumbo eggs. Still came out beautiful! It is moist, has a soft texture, and definitely easy. Might have gone overboard with cinnamon, but that's my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Turned out great! I followed someone else's lead and put a whole tub of sour cream in, and added some mini-chocolate chips in the batter, and it came out so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States