Chocolate Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is no babka...it's only a chocolate coffeecake. A true babka is fashioned from a yeast-leavened dough, rich with eggs. After rushing to the recipe, eagerly anticipating a real babka that I might make and finding only a typical quick-bread type coffeecake, I'm a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this recipe and it was very tasty, but it takes soooo long to cool. I tried to get it out of the pan, but when I did the whole thing crumbled!! It was disappointing, but it still tasted good. I'd reccomend that you cool it for at least a few hours, before attempting to remove it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Du Bois, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is a great recipe! After reading other reviews, I decided to add an extra 1/4 cup sour cream, and an additional 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I baked it 15 minutes longer (after covering w/foil) & it turned out moist, chocolatey & delicious. My husband loved it! I will certainly make it again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Just made this. Also added an extra 1/4 cup sour cream (was nervous of it being dry) and put some chocolate chips in the dough. I would suggest using confectioners sugar for the topping, that is what I have used in the past when I have made a real babka, and it's much easier to dust/stick along the top/eat! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Everyone liked the chocolate babka. We all associated it with the Jerry Seinfeld episode on TV. We all had a good laugh reminicing and then ate some more babka. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Turned out great! I followed someone else's lead and put a whole tub of sour cream in, and added some mini-chocolate chips in the batter, and it came out so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I gave this cake five stars because my family loved it! I have never had a real Babka before so I could not tell you if it's like one, but I can tell you this is a great cake! I did make a few changes to suit how I cook. Insead of the sour cream I used coconut milk, and instead of the unsweetened cocoa powder I used Ghirardelli all natural sweet ground chocolate and cocoa powder, and i also substiuted Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips for the semisweet chocolate chips. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
the closed thing to a chocolate cloud!!! i love it. it is soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beary34

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
this recipe was AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I liked this cake and gave one to a friend of mine and she loved it also. Maybe top it with a little ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara_H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: North Springfield, Vermont, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States