Chocolate Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is no babka...it's only a chocolate coffeecake. A true babka is fashioned from a yeast-leavened dough, rich with eggs. After rushing to the recipe, eagerly anticipating a real babka that I might make and finding only a typical quick-bread type coffeecake, I'm a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this recipe and it was very tasty, but it takes soooo long to cool. I tried to get it out of the pan, but when I did the whole thing crumbled!! It was disappointing, but it still tasted good. I'd reccomend that you cool it for at least a few hours, before attempting to remove it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Du Bois, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is a great recipe! After reading other reviews, I decided to add an extra 1/4 cup sour cream, and an additional 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I baked it 15 minutes longer (after covering w/foil) & it turned out moist, chocolatey & delicious. My husband loved it! I will certainly make it again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Everyone liked the chocolate babka. We all associated it with the Jerry Seinfeld episode on TV. We all had a good laugh reminicing and then ate some more babka. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Just made this. Also added an extra 1/4 cup sour cream (was nervous of it being dry) and put some chocolate chips in the dough. I would suggest using confectioners sugar for the topping, that is what I have used in the past when I have made a real babka, and it's much easier to dust/stick along the top/eat! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Turned out great! I followed someone else's lead and put a whole tub of sour cream in, and added some mini-chocolate chips in the batter, and it came out so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I gave this cake five stars because my family loved it! I have never had a real Babka before so I could not tell you if it's like one, but I can tell you this is a great cake! I did make a few changes to suit how I cook. Insead of the sour cream I used coconut milk, and instead of the unsweetened cocoa powder I used Ghirardelli all natural sweet ground chocolate and cocoa powder, and i also substiuted Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips for the semisweet chocolate chips. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
the closed thing to a chocolate cloud!!! i love it. it is soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beary34

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was AWFUL! Way to dry and i even shortened the baking time. Its barely even chocolatly, if it wasnt for the chocolate chips it wouldnt have any chocolate flavor at all. It went right in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pancake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving last year and it was a hit. I accidentdally used the whole tub of sour cream instead of just one cup, but it came out wonderful anyway. I will be making it again this year and I am sure it will be even better without that mistake! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States