Chocolate Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is no babka...it's only a chocolate coffeecake. A true babka is fashioned from a yeast-leavened dough, rich with eggs. After rushing to the recipe, eagerly anticipating a real babka that I might make and finding only a typical quick-bread type coffeecake, I'm a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this recipe and it was very tasty, but it takes soooo long to cool. I tried to get it out of the pan, but when I did the whole thing crumbled!! It was disappointing, but it still tasted good. I'd reccomend that you cool it for at least a few hours, before attempting to remove it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Du Bois, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is a great recipe! After reading other reviews, I decided to add an extra 1/4 cup sour cream, and an additional 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I baked it 15 minutes longer (after covering w/foil) & it turned out moist, chocolatey & delicious. My husband loved it! I will certainly make it again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Everyone liked the chocolate babka. We all associated it with the Jerry Seinfeld episode on TV. We all had a good laugh reminicing and then ate some more babka. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Just made this. Also added an extra 1/4 cup sour cream (was nervous of it being dry) and put some chocolate chips in the dough. I would suggest using confectioners sugar for the topping, that is what I have used in the past when I have made a real babka, and it's much easier to dust/stick along the top/eat! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Turned out great! I followed someone else's lead and put a whole tub of sour cream in, and added some mini-chocolate chips in the batter, and it came out so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I gave this cake five stars because my family loved it! I have never had a real Babka before so I could not tell you if it's like one, but I can tell you this is a great cake! I did make a few changes to suit how I cook. Insead of the sour cream I used coconut milk, and instead of the unsweetened cocoa powder I used Ghirardelli all natural sweet ground chocolate and cocoa powder, and i also substiuted Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips for the semisweet chocolate chips. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
the closed thing to a chocolate cloud!!! i love it. it is soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beary34

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving last year and it was a hit. I accidentdally used the whole tub of sour cream instead of just one cup, but it came out wonderful anyway. I will be making it again this year and I am sure it will be even better without that mistake! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Not like the bakery babkas I remember other than the combination of nuts, cinnamon and chocolate, but really really good anyway. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States