Chocolate Babka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this recipe and it was very tasty, but it takes soooo long to cool. I tried to get it out of the pan, but when I did the whole thing crumbled!! It was disappointing, but it still tasted good. I'd reccomend that you cool it for at least a few hours, before attempting to remove it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Du Bois, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is a great recipe! After reading other reviews, I decided to add an extra 1/4 cup sour cream, and an additional 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I baked it 15 minutes longer (after covering w/foil) & it turned out moist, chocolatey & delicious. My husband loved it! I will certainly make it again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was AWFUL! Way to dry and i even shortened the baking time. Its barely even chocolatly, if it wasnt for the chocolate chips it wouldnt have any chocolate flavor at all. It went right in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pancake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Great flavor and really simple make since yeast isn't used. It has a tendency to dry out too quickly if not frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is no babka...it's only a chocolate coffeecake. A true babka is fashioned from a yeast-leavened dough, rich with eggs. After rushing to the recipe, eagerly anticipating a real babka that I might make and finding only a typical quick-bread type coffeecake, I'm a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I made this and my friends loved it. I didn't really like the topping myself, I found it too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
My friend and I made it in a 9x12 pan. We thought it was a bit dry. My family, chocolate cake lovers, had no problem finishing it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
I would have liked this cake to be more chocolaty. Ohter than that, it was very good - more of a coffee cake than a dessert cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Good cake, but not really an authentic babka. It was very easy to make, much easier than the traditional babkas. The cake came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving last year and it was a hit. I accidentdally used the whole tub of sour cream instead of just one cup, but it came out wonderful anyway. I will be making it again this year and I am sure it will be even better without that mistake! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States