Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
I have been looking for this recipe for years. I won a baking contest with this cake, and lost the recipe. Everyone just loves it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This cake was nice and moist...however i didnt think it had enough chocolate taste to it. Kids enjoyed. Prob. wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This cake is soooo moist and flavorful. I love the combination of cocoa and applesauce. Since one reviewer said it didn't have enough chocolate taste, I increased the cocoa to 1/4 cup and added 1t cinnamon to kick the chocolate flavor up another notch.This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Maggie was right to add 1/4 cup of cocoa powder, because with less it is very bland. Especially for beginners like me who follow recipes by the line need to know the right ingredients. I'm glad I read the reviews prior to making this cake. Added two ripe bananas, turned out okay, although I had not fully added 1/4 cup cocoa powder but a 1/3 C. and two tablespoons cuz I wasn't sure whether I added too much. But I see it wasn't really, has only a slight chocolate taste. Just a decent cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
this is a great, moist cake. It's very fast to make. It's especailly delicious when served with a cup of tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This is such a simple recipe and sooo good. Everyone I know who's tasted it, loves it. But I do find it needs less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I love this recipe. We live at 5000 feet and it turned out just right. It was moist and very chocolatey. It is very tasty with the 1/4 cup cocoa and I reduced sugar to 1 cup and used 1/4 cup liquid egg substitute in place of the eggs. I also input this recipe with my modifications into nutritiondata.com and it only has about 256 calories for 1/15 of the recipe. I will make it again when I need a chocolate fix or to take somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is very moist and yummy. I left out the walnuts but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I brought it to work for a breakfast and everyone enjoyed it. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
The kids raved. It did not need to bake the 35 minutes as called for. I smelled "done" at 25 mins, and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Nice and moist, but not very chocolatey even after using 1/4 cup cocoa and 1 tsp cinnamon for flavour. I also realized halfway through that I only had 1.5 cups of applesauce so I topped it up with half a banana. I made cupcakes instead of a cake and they only needed 20 min in the oven for mini cupcakes pr 23 min for full sized. I frosted them with "Chocolate Frosting I" from this site, which added the chocolate kick I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States