Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very moist and delicious! A big hit at my little get-together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My son went apple picking so I made a big batch of applesauce with the apples he picked. I decided I wanted to make a cake with the leftover applesauce, and I found this recipe. I followed other recommendations by increasing the cocoa to 1/4 cup and adding a tsp. of cinnamon. I only sprinkled the chocolate chips on top since my kids are not nut lovers, and I sprinkled powdered sugar on top to give it a little extra sweetness and to make it look a little prettier. All in all a very moist and delicious cake....it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was moist, light and flavorful. I even used reduced-fat margarine for the butter and it turned out suprisingly well. I would not consider it for "chocoholics" though and may increase the cocoa to 1/4 cup in the future as suggested by other reviewers. I would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
At the first try, my husband and I thought the cake itself could have more chocolate flavor, but we are going to try another piece tonight. I think next time I will stir the chocolate chips through the batter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I added the extra cocoa powder(as suggested) and vanilla,next time I'll cut back to the amount of cocoa listed in the recipe and cook it in less time. It turned out a little dry so watch the baking time on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Delicious recipe! I forgot to add the vanilla and didn't miss it. Also, I doubled the amount of cocoa powder and sprinkled the top with cinnamon baking chips and toffee bits in addition to the chocolate chips. The combo of the three was incredible! Very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Nice and moist, but not very chocolatey even after using 1/4 cup cocoa and 1 tsp cinnamon for flavour. I also realized halfway through that I only had 1.5 cups of applesauce so I topped it up with half a banana. I made cupcakes instead of a cake and they only needed 20 min in the oven for mini cupcakes pr 23 min for full sized. I frosted them with "Chocolate Frosting I" from this site, which added the chocolate kick I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
The kids raved. It did not need to bake the 35 minutes as called for. I smelled "done" at 25 mins, and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is very moist and yummy. I left out the walnuts but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I brought it to work for a breakfast and everyone enjoyed it. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I love this recipe. We live at 5000 feet and it turned out just right. It was moist and very chocolatey. It is very tasty with the 1/4 cup cocoa and I reduced sugar to 1 cup and used 1/4 cup liquid egg substitute in place of the eggs. I also input this recipe with my modifications into nutritiondata.com and it only has about 256 calories for 1/15 of the recipe. I will make it again when I need a chocolate fix or to take somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States