Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Delicious recipe! I forgot to add the vanilla and didn't miss it. Also, I doubled the amount of cocoa powder and sprinkled the top with cinnamon baking chips and toffee bits in addition to the chocolate chips. The combo of the three was incredible! Very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Nice and moist, but not very chocolatey even after using 1/4 cup cocoa and 1 tsp cinnamon for flavour. I also realized halfway through that I only had 1.5 cups of applesauce so I topped it up with half a banana. I made cupcakes instead of a cake and they only needed 20 min in the oven for mini cupcakes pr 23 min for full sized. I frosted them with "Chocolate Frosting I" from this site, which added the chocolate kick I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
The kids raved. It did not need to bake the 35 minutes as called for. I smelled "done" at 25 mins, and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is very moist and yummy. I left out the walnuts but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I brought it to work for a breakfast and everyone enjoyed it. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I love this recipe. We live at 5000 feet and it turned out just right. It was moist and very chocolatey. It is very tasty with the 1/4 cup cocoa and I reduced sugar to 1 cup and used 1/4 cup liquid egg substitute in place of the eggs. I also input this recipe with my modifications into nutritiondata.com and it only has about 256 calories for 1/15 of the recipe. I will make it again when I need a chocolate fix or to take somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This is such a simple recipe and sooo good. Everyone I know who's tasted it, loves it. But I do find it needs less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
this is a great, moist cake. It's very fast to make. It's especailly delicious when served with a cup of tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Maggie was right to add 1/4 cup of cocoa powder, because with less it is very bland. Especially for beginners like me who follow recipes by the line need to know the right ingredients. I'm glad I read the reviews prior to making this cake. Added two ripe bananas, turned out okay, although I had not fully added 1/4 cup cocoa powder but a 1/3 C. and two tablespoons cuz I wasn't sure whether I added too much. But I see it wasn't really, has only a slight chocolate taste. Just a decent cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This cake is soooo moist and flavorful. I love the combination of cocoa and applesauce. Since one reviewer said it didn't have enough chocolate taste, I increased the cocoa to 1/4 cup and added 1t cinnamon to kick the chocolate flavor up another notch.This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This cake was nice and moist...however i didnt think it had enough chocolate taste to it. Kids enjoyed. Prob. wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States