Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
amazing cake recipe!! when you think of applesauce in baked goods, you usually think of a reduced-fat recipe trying to mimic the excellent original...not in this case (although this recipe has butter, so i don't think the applesauce was intended to cut fat!!) anyway, my only change was to up the cocoa poweder to 1/4 cup and omit the walnuts. i made a double layer cake, putting a cool whip cream cheese frosting between the layers, and topping with a thick dollop of fudge buttercream. DELISH!! i especially enjoyed the chocoloate chips on top. great addition for flavor and a bit of texture! on it's own though, this cake is moist, not too dense, and just fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
these we're so delicious! I made them for the superbowl with footballs on top and they were delicious and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I am about to make this cake but just wanted you to know that the walnuts were not mentioned in the ingredients. It is now 1:00 EDT on 10/02/11 and I am now adding on that I just made this cake and it is fantastic! I only had 1-1/2 cups applesauce so I added 1/4 cup cold brewed coffee and 2 tbsp Hersheys chocolate syrup, then swirled in whole berry dark cherry jam after spooning batter into cake pan. Then I added 1 cup chocolate chips and 2/3 cup chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Excellent! Used apple butter in place of apple sauce, mixed the chocolate chips inside the dough, and omitted the nuts! Took it to a party and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe. UPDATE: I also made this cake with pureed fresh pears in place of the apple sauce. It's officially my favorite cake so far and I will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very moist and chocolatey cake without the guilt! Okay maybe still a little guilt but less than you would have with a traditional chocolate cake. Too make it a little more "healthy" I used only 1 c. sugar, used half ap flour and half whole wheat, and didn't add the chocolate chips. I increased the cocoa powder to 1/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was so dissappointed with this recipe. I should of notice something was up with the recipe with the sugar didnt mix properly with the butter & made this grainy look, I went along with the recipe & they batter had a werid white dots & when baked ( I baked as cupcakes) it didnt rise & was very werid in texture thou flavor was deff there. I'll try this recipe again, hopefully this time it comes out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I am stuffing my face with this moist, chocolaty goodness as I type this and I am in HEAVEN!! Doubled the cocoa powder as suggested & forgot the nuts, but kept the other quantities the same. Halved the recipe so that I could bake as cupcakes (350 for 20 minutes) and found that half the recipe makes 12 perfectly beautiful little gems. I had originally intended to dust them with powdered sugar after they cooled, but they're so gorgeous as they are that I am leaving them as is! Thanks so much for taming my chocolate craving! Will make this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I used the basic recipe peeled and diced up a few apples to put in it and also added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
A very easy and satisfying cake. A five-star from me is exceptional because I am not fond of most cakes--no fluffy, dry cake for me. This one's nice and dense, moist, and has a much better topping than the usual frosting! BTW more cocoa is necessary (at least double).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningpeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've never had such a moist and delicious cake in my life! The chocoholics in my office will be really thankful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Brodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Salamanca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States