Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was so dissappointed with this recipe. I should of notice something was up with the recipe with the sugar didnt mix properly with the butter & made this grainy look, I went along with the recipe & they batter had a werid white dots & when baked ( I baked as cupcakes) it didnt rise & was very werid in texture thou flavor was deff there. I'll try this recipe again, hopefully this time it comes out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I am stuffing my face with this moist, chocolaty goodness as I type this and I am in HEAVEN!! Doubled the cocoa powder as suggested & forgot the nuts, but kept the other quantities the same. Halved the recipe so that I could bake as cupcakes (350 for 20 minutes) and found that half the recipe makes 12 perfectly beautiful little gems. I had originally intended to dust them with powdered sugar after they cooled, but they're so gorgeous as they are that I am leaving them as is! Thanks so much for taming my chocolate craving! Will make this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I used the basic recipe peeled and diced up a few apples to put in it and also added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
A very easy and satisfying cake. A five-star from me is exceptional because I am not fond of most cakes--no fluffy, dry cake for me. This one's nice and dense, moist, and has a much better topping than the usual frosting! BTW more cocoa is necessary (at least double).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningpeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've never had such a moist and delicious cake in my life! The chocoholics in my office will be really thankful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Brodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Salamanca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very moist and delicious! A big hit at my little get-together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My son went apple picking so I made a big batch of applesauce with the apples he picked. I decided I wanted to make a cake with the leftover applesauce, and I found this recipe. I followed other recommendations by increasing the cocoa to 1/4 cup and adding a tsp. of cinnamon. I only sprinkled the chocolate chips on top since my kids are not nut lovers, and I sprinkled powdered sugar on top to give it a little extra sweetness and to make it look a little prettier. All in all a very moist and delicious cake....it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was moist, light and flavorful. I even used reduced-fat margarine for the butter and it turned out suprisingly well. I would not consider it for "chocoholics" though and may increase the cocoa to 1/4 cup in the future as suggested by other reviewers. I would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
At the first try, my husband and I thought the cake itself could have more chocolate flavor, but we are going to try another piece tonight. I think next time I will stir the chocolate chips through the batter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I added the extra cocoa powder(as suggested) and vanilla,next time I'll cut back to the amount of cocoa listed in the recipe and cook it in less time. It turned out a little dry so watch the baking time on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States