Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This cake is soooo moist and flavorful. I love the combination of cocoa and applesauce. Since one reviewer said it didn't have enough chocolate taste, I increased the cocoa to 1/4 cup and added 1t cinnamon to kick the chocolate flavor up another notch.This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I am stuffing my face with this moist, chocolaty goodness as I type this and I am in HEAVEN!! Doubled the cocoa powder as suggested & forgot the nuts, but kept the other quantities the same. Halved the recipe so that I could bake as cupcakes (350 for 20 minutes) and found that half the recipe makes 12 perfectly beautiful little gems. I had originally intended to dust them with powdered sugar after they cooled, but they're so gorgeous as they are that I am leaving them as is! Thanks so much for taming my chocolate craving! Will make this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This is such a simple recipe and sooo good. Everyone I know who's tasted it, loves it. But I do find it needs less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I love this recipe. We live at 5000 feet and it turned out just right. It was moist and very chocolatey. It is very tasty with the 1/4 cup cocoa and I reduced sugar to 1 cup and used 1/4 cup liquid egg substitute in place of the eggs. I also input this recipe with my modifications into nutritiondata.com and it only has about 256 calories for 1/15 of the recipe. I will make it again when I need a chocolate fix or to take somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very moist and chocolatey cake without the guilt! Okay maybe still a little guilt but less than you would have with a traditional chocolate cake. Too make it a little more "healthy" I used only 1 c. sugar, used half ap flour and half whole wheat, and didn't add the chocolate chips. I increased the cocoa powder to 1/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Excellent! Used apple butter in place of apple sauce, mixed the chocolate chips inside the dough, and omitted the nuts! Took it to a party and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe. UPDATE: I also made this cake with pureed fresh pears in place of the apple sauce. It's officially my favorite cake so far and I will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was so dissappointed with this recipe. I should of notice something was up with the recipe with the sugar didnt mix properly with the butter & made this grainy look, I went along with the recipe & they batter had a werid white dots & when baked ( I baked as cupcakes) it didnt rise & was very werid in texture thou flavor was deff there. I'll try this recipe again, hopefully this time it comes out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Nice and moist, but not very chocolatey even after using 1/4 cup cocoa and 1 tsp cinnamon for flavour. I also realized halfway through that I only had 1.5 cups of applesauce so I topped it up with half a banana. I made cupcakes instead of a cake and they only needed 20 min in the oven for mini cupcakes pr 23 min for full sized. I frosted them with "Chocolate Frosting I" from this site, which added the chocolate kick I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Maggie was right to add 1/4 cup of cocoa powder, because with less it is very bland. Especially for beginners like me who follow recipes by the line need to know the right ingredients. I'm glad I read the reviews prior to making this cake. Added two ripe bananas, turned out okay, although I had not fully added 1/4 cup cocoa powder but a 1/3 C. and two tablespoons cuz I wasn't sure whether I added too much. But I see it wasn't really, has only a slight chocolate taste. Just a decent cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Oh my my my~~~ This is so good! I'm literally stuffing my face all over it!!! Ok, I did reduce the sugar like the reviewers recommended. That too and I didn't have unsweetened cocoa or the apple sauce, they're both already sweetened. I did fold in my left over godiva truffles I had from my birthday gift along with walnuts. Please~~~~ they are so moist and delicious!!!! I will make them again, but next time, I can reduce some more sugar and add more cocoa powder since the cocoa powder is already sweetened and want some more rich chocolate flavor. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States