Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very moist and chocolatey cake without the guilt! Okay maybe still a little guilt but less than you would have with a traditional chocolate cake. Too make it a little more "healthy" I used only 1 c. sugar, used half ap flour and half whole wheat, and didn't add the chocolate chips. I increased the cocoa powder to 1/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was so dissappointed with this recipe. I should of notice something was up with the recipe with the sugar didnt mix properly with the butter & made this grainy look, I went along with the recipe & they batter had a werid white dots & when baked ( I baked as cupcakes) it didnt rise & was very werid in texture thou flavor was deff there. I'll try this recipe again, hopefully this time it comes out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I am stuffing my face with this moist, chocolaty goodness as I type this and I am in HEAVEN!! Doubled the cocoa powder as suggested & forgot the nuts, but kept the other quantities the same. Halved the recipe so that I could bake as cupcakes (350 for 20 minutes) and found that half the recipe makes 12 perfectly beautiful little gems. I had originally intended to dust them with powdered sugar after they cooled, but they're so gorgeous as they are that I am leaving them as is! Thanks so much for taming my chocolate craving! Will make this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I used the basic recipe peeled and diced up a few apples to put in it and also added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
A very easy and satisfying cake. A five-star from me is exceptional because I am not fond of most cakes--no fluffy, dry cake for me. This one's nice and dense, moist, and has a much better topping than the usual frosting! BTW more cocoa is necessary (at least double).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningpeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've never had such a moist and delicious cake in my life! The chocoholics in my office will be really thankful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Brodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Salamanca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very moist and delicious! A big hit at my little get-together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My son went apple picking so I made a big batch of applesauce with the apples he picked. I decided I wanted to make a cake with the leftover applesauce, and I found this recipe. I followed other recommendations by increasing the cocoa to 1/4 cup and adding a tsp. of cinnamon. I only sprinkled the chocolate chips on top since my kids are not nut lovers, and I sprinkled powdered sugar on top to give it a little extra sweetness and to make it look a little prettier. All in all a very moist and delicious cake....it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was moist, light and flavorful. I even used reduced-fat margarine for the butter and it turned out suprisingly well. I would not consider it for "chocoholics" though and may increase the cocoa to 1/4 cup in the future as suggested by other reviewers. I would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
At the first try, my husband and I thought the cake itself could have more chocolate flavor, but we are going to try another piece tonight. I think next time I will stir the chocolate chips through the batter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States