Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
amazing cake recipe!! when you think of applesauce in baked goods, you usually think of a reduced-fat recipe trying to mimic the excellent original...not in this case (although this recipe has butter, so i don't think the applesauce was intended to cut fat!!) anyway, my only change was to up the cocoa poweder to 1/4 cup and omit the walnuts. i made a double layer cake, putting a cool whip cream cheese frosting between the layers, and topping with a thick dollop of fudge buttercream. DELISH!! i especially enjoyed the chocoloate chips on top. great addition for flavor and a bit of texture! on it's own though, this cake is moist, not too dense, and just fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
these we're so delicious! I made them for the superbowl with footballs on top and they were delicious and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I am about to make this cake but just wanted you to know that the walnuts were not mentioned in the ingredients. It is now 1:00 EDT on 10/02/11 and I am now adding on that I just made this cake and it is fantastic! I only had 1-1/2 cups applesauce so I added 1/4 cup cold brewed coffee and 2 tbsp Hersheys chocolate syrup, then swirled in whole berry dark cherry jam after spooning batter into cake pan. Then I added 1 cup chocolate chips and 2/3 cup chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Excellent! Used apple butter in place of apple sauce, mixed the chocolate chips inside the dough, and omitted the nuts! Took it to a party and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe. UPDATE: I also made this cake with pureed fresh pears in place of the apple sauce. It's officially my favorite cake so far and I will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very moist and chocolatey cake without the guilt! Okay maybe still a little guilt but less than you would have with a traditional chocolate cake. Too make it a little more "healthy" I used only 1 c. sugar, used half ap flour and half whole wheat, and didn't add the chocolate chips. I increased the cocoa powder to 1/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was so dissappointed with this recipe. I should of notice something was up with the recipe with the sugar didnt mix properly with the butter & made this grainy look, I went along with the recipe & they batter had a werid white dots & when baked ( I baked as cupcakes) it didnt rise & was very werid in texture thou flavor was deff there. I'll try this recipe again, hopefully this time it comes out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I am stuffing my face with this moist, chocolaty goodness as I type this and I am in HEAVEN!! Doubled the cocoa powder as suggested & forgot the nuts, but kept the other quantities the same. Halved the recipe so that I could bake as cupcakes (350 for 20 minutes) and found that half the recipe makes 12 perfectly beautiful little gems. I had originally intended to dust them with powdered sugar after they cooled, but they're so gorgeous as they are that I am leaving them as is! Thanks so much for taming my chocolate craving! Will make this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I used the basic recipe peeled and diced up a few apples to put in it and also added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
A very easy and satisfying cake. A five-star from me is exceptional because I am not fond of most cakes--no fluffy, dry cake for me. This one's nice and dense, moist, and has a much better topping than the usual frosting! BTW more cocoa is necessary (at least double).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningpeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've never had such a moist and delicious cake in my life! The chocoholics in my office will be really thankful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Brodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Salamanca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States