Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Was very moist, not overly sweet and had a delicate chocolate flavor. I added 1/4 cup of cocoa as suggested in the reviews. Made it without the chocolate chips as I didn't have any and the nuts with good results. I'm making this again and will be adding the chocolate chips to see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryKRichards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potosi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have been baking & cooking for many decades. I've baked many chocolate cakes in my time. This recipe produced the best chocolate cake I've ever made. The secret, of course, is the applesauce. Applesauce makes a cake deliciously moist, not dry and lacking in substance. I took one reviewer's advice, and increased the cocoa to 1/4 cup and added a teaspoon of cinnamon. I suspect the basic recipe could be adapted many ways - instead of chocolate chips on top, it could have actual icing. Also, it could become a lovely spice cake - it doesn't even need to be chocolate. I tried this recipe only because I had applesauce and wanted to use it - so I googled 'applesauce' and this recipe popped up. What a lucky discovery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is the recipe that got me addicted to baking! I've used it quite a lot to make a cake or cupcakes--probably more than twenty times. It's moist, flavorful (I like to add more cocoa, too), and more or less fool-proof; I mess up all the time and everything turns out delicious anyway! For people with a sweet tooth like mine, this cake is great with buttercream frosting. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Made recently due to having a load of applesauce, and was looking for a recipe. As others have said, this was just so very moist, and tasted wonderful. Not overly sweet, which is a plus. Took a little longer in my oven - but just checked with the tooth pick a few times. Took it to a group picnic and everyone loved it .. and wants the recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Really good cake! We changed it up a bit though, and it turned out fabulous! Probably quadrupled the vanilla and chocolate, as well as adding a teaspoon of ginger, and also of cinnemon. We also took out all of the sugar, as our homemade applesauce was not unsweetened. Perfect. :) WOW. SO GOOD. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
great taste, light texture...omitted nuts cause I didn't have any, but it was good anyhow. Hubby likes it, and the fact it doesn't need frosted is a plus...will make again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
amazing cake recipe!! when you think of applesauce in baked goods, you usually think of a reduced-fat recipe trying to mimic the excellent original...not in this case (although this recipe has butter, so i don't think the applesauce was intended to cut fat!!) anyway, my only change was to up the cocoa poweder to 1/4 cup and omit the walnuts. i made a double layer cake, putting a cool whip cream cheese frosting between the layers, and topping with a thick dollop of fudge buttercream. DELISH!! i especially enjoyed the chocoloate chips on top. great addition for flavor and a bit of texture! on it's own though, this cake is moist, not too dense, and just fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
these we're so delicious! I made them for the superbowl with footballs on top and they were delicious and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I am about to make this cake but just wanted you to know that the walnuts were not mentioned in the ingredients. It is now 1:00 EDT on 10/02/11 and I am now adding on that I just made this cake and it is fantastic! I only had 1-1/2 cups applesauce so I added 1/4 cup cold brewed coffee and 2 tbsp Hersheys chocolate syrup, then swirled in whole berry dark cherry jam after spooning batter into cake pan. Then I added 1 cup chocolate chips and 2/3 cup chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Excellent! Used apple butter in place of apple sauce, mixed the chocolate chips inside the dough, and omitted the nuts! Took it to a party and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe. UPDATE: I also made this cake with pureed fresh pears in place of the apple sauce. It's officially my favorite cake so far and I will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States