Chocolate Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
'Seems I go for applesauce cake when I'm having to use up applesauce. 'Not too creative. :D Well, I thought 2c applesauce was too much so only used 1 1/2c. The batter was pretty fluffy/light & not as thick as usual cake batter. It, the batter, tasted more like a light chocolate fluffy frosting than cake batter. 'Only had about 2/3c chips so saved a little for on top & mixed the rest in. They were minis so they give more chocolate flavor than larger ones. Mine took 45 minutes in glass. 'Think a lot has to do with the thickness of the applesauce. I used Mott's so I'm kinda surprised. The batter tasted fluffy. The cake reminds me of a mix. 'Not a bad mix, but a mix. 'Similar in texture & flavor to commercial baked goods - like devil dogs, on the dark side. It has a slightly shiny surface. K, 14, liked - & didn't know about the applesauce factor. :o :D Notsuchachocolatelover E, 16, did, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I love this cake so much I took a couple of pieces over to my neighbors right away! So moist and chocolaty (doubled the cocoa). I baked it in a bundt pan and it turned out perfectly. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
only had sweetened applesauce, so cut sugar back to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Oh my my my~~~ This is so good! I'm literally stuffing my face all over it!!! Ok, I did reduce the sugar like the reviewers recommended. That too and I didn't have unsweetened cocoa or the apple sauce, they're both already sweetened. I did fold in my left over godiva truffles I had from my birthday gift along with walnuts. Please~~~~ they are so moist and delicious!!!! I will make them again, but next time, I can reduce some more sugar and add more cocoa powder since the cocoa powder is already sweetened and want some more rich chocolate flavor. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Was very moist, not overly sweet and had a delicate chocolate flavor. I added 1/4 cup of cocoa as suggested in the reviews. Made it without the chocolate chips as I didn't have any and the nuts with good results. I'm making this again and will be adding the chocolate chips to see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryKRichards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potosi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have been baking & cooking for many decades. I've baked many chocolate cakes in my time. This recipe produced the best chocolate cake I've ever made. The secret, of course, is the applesauce. Applesauce makes a cake deliciously moist, not dry and lacking in substance. I took one reviewer's advice, and increased the cocoa to 1/4 cup and added a teaspoon of cinnamon. I suspect the basic recipe could be adapted many ways - instead of chocolate chips on top, it could have actual icing. Also, it could become a lovely spice cake - it doesn't even need to be chocolate. I tried this recipe only because I had applesauce and wanted to use it - so I googled 'applesauce' and this recipe popped up. What a lucky discovery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is the recipe that got me addicted to baking! I've used it quite a lot to make a cake or cupcakes--probably more than twenty times. It's moist, flavorful (I like to add more cocoa, too), and more or less fool-proof; I mess up all the time and everything turns out delicious anyway! For people with a sweet tooth like mine, this cake is great with buttercream frosting. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Made recently due to having a load of applesauce, and was looking for a recipe. As others have said, this was just so very moist, and tasted wonderful. Not overly sweet, which is a plus. Took a little longer in my oven - but just checked with the tooth pick a few times. Took it to a group picnic and everyone loved it .. and wants the recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Really good cake! We changed it up a bit though, and it turned out fabulous! Probably quadrupled the vanilla and chocolate, as well as adding a teaspoon of ginger, and also of cinnemon. We also took out all of the sugar, as our homemade applesauce was not unsweetened. Perfect. :) WOW. SO GOOD. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
great taste, light texture...omitted nuts cause I didn't have any, but it was good anyhow. Hubby likes it, and the fact it doesn't need frosted is a plus...will make again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States