Chocolate Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This recipe was brilliant .It is ideal for those with an egg allergy ,it is quick to make, delicious and it was enjoyed by all memmbers of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I was in a baking mood today but didn't have eggs and didn't feel like a trip to the store. I had some dark rum a friend gave me and figured I'd put it to use here. I halved the recipe and made it in an 8x8 glass pan and cooked it for about 25 minutes. Super moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is the "Best" Apple sauce cake ever! My family loved it! In fact they all said, they would pay me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was great one of the girls I work with is allergic to eggs and her favorite candies are rum balls so she loved this cake!! I left the raisins out and added some chocolate glaze to the cake. I wish I had taken a pic it was beautiful as a bundt cake and it cooked wonderfully. I will make this again for her she loved it and so did everyone else there was not a slice left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trissie21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
My family loved this cake. I used rum extract, that was the only change I made. I personally do not like nutmeg very much and i felt like it overpowered the taste so next time I will put in more cinnamon and less nutmeg, but this change is for personal taste only. I did bake in a bundt pan and it turned out perfect, moist and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wow!!! This is one very tasty applesauce cake , than you Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I made this after doing on search on cocoa and applesauce as I wanted to use up some of both. What a hit! I frosted it with the Quick Penuche Frosting recipe in the New Joy of Cooking, using the rum option in that recipe. Everyone loved it. I think that combination of cake and frosting would make a nice layer cake for the birthday of someone who likes those flavors. I might, however, be tempted to experiment with this recipe by cutting the applesauce by 1/2 cup and adding 2 eggs and a bit of baking powder to make the cake rise a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This cake had just the right amount of sweetness! I only put in half of the margarine, about 1/4 c less of applesauce and omitted the nuts and the 1/4c dark rum. Made a nice 9" round cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Super easy to make! I cut back on the milk - added a bit more applesauce and vanilla. Didnt have dark rum but had Malibu so instead of raisins I used coconut. Used golden sugar instead of white. DELISH! I also didnt sprinkle a full 1/4 cup of rum on top... about two tablespoons. Also only baked for 40 minutes! Great way to use my grandmas homemade applesauce! (she doesnt put sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was pretty good, I did however make a few changes. I used unsweetened soymilk instead, and only 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I didn't think there was enough batter for a 9x13 pan, so I used a 7x11 pan and baked for about 50 mins.....in the end I think a 9x13 would've been ok. I also did not use the full 1/4 cup rum at the end, I was taking this to work so I only used about 1/8 cup on top, and then sprinkled it with powdered sugar before serving. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States