Chocolate Angel Food Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
WOW WOW WOW!!! "chocolatey" and light - I served this with strawberries and cool whip - and I'm baking another one only one evening later! I'm converted...no more plain angel food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Very yummy... I left the grated chocolate in more of pieces and the cake turned out just fine. It looks really pretty with the chunks of chocolate showing. Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Lovely recipe, however I chose to eliminate the lemon juice, upped the vanilla to 1/2 tsp, and added 1/4 tsp of almond extract. Next go-round I will mix in some powdered instant coffee into the chocolate/flour mixture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryJo
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This cake was easy to make and tasted absolutely wonderful. I made it exactly like the recipe and finely grated my chocolate so there were not any pieces. I might have to try it next time with grating the chocolate in larger pieces. It serves up very pretty with sliced berries and a little whipped cream. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was ok. We always make regular angel food cake but wanted to try something different. I wasn't sure how this would come out but it was a nice change. I left out the chocolate chips because I was out and it still had a good chocolate flavor. I'll probably stick to the regular one but this wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I made this cake for my younger sister's 13th birthday. I agree that it was simple to make. It was not very popular, however. It turned out very spongy. It was more like bread than a cake. It did look like angel food cake, but it didn't taste nearly as good as it looked. I will not follow this recipe again. There has to be a recipe out there for a genuine, chocolate angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Wow. This cake got rave reviews at my husband's birthday party. Everyone was impressed that I was able to make this from scratch. The recipe was so easy to follow and just perfect. I dusted with powdered sugar to "pretty" it up. Grandma is still raving about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This cake was absolutely amazing. I made it for a dinner party and it was a huge hit with my guests. The cake was moist, and the little chocolate chunks added great flavor, yet the cake was not overwhelmingly sweet. I served it with fresh berries and homemade whipped cream. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Made this last year for Clare's birthday and she's still talking about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vail, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
It got eaten, but I'll never make this one again. It didn't have the angel-foodish texture I'm used to. Sorry, I didn't think it lived up to the hype.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States