Chocolate Angel Food Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
WE did not like this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Well worth 5 stars! It's light and airy, and moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I had never heard of chocolate angel food cake until I found this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, and the cake turned out OK... it wasn't great and it wasn't horrible. It was definitely a lot denser than normal angel food cake, and also not as moist as the angel food cake I am used to... I will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Angelically light and delightfully delicious! I mix all the grated chocolate with all the flour/cocoa mixture first and then proceed with the folding; much easier than the instruction for separate folding and less chance of deflating the egg whites. Also, have to remind myself NOT to grease the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This. Is. Fabulous. I had a little trouble getting the stiff peaks the recipe calls for, but having made a few angel food cakes before, I just forged ahead and hoped it would taste the same. It rose a little in the oven, and came out beautifully. Like the biggest, prettiest chocolate meringue cookie you've ever seen. My family couldn't keep their hands off it. My one caution is to really let it cool in the pan completely - I didn't, and mine fell out of the pan and cracked when I flipped it to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Wow was I ever impressed by this recipe! I love angel food, but I thought putting chocolate in was going to take away from its goodness, but I decided to try it anyways.I am so glad I did! This was better than regular chocolate cake! I used all the indredients as stated, except I took my semi-sweet chocolate (all I had was chocolate chips) and but it in my coffee grinder. Then I ground it for about 15 seconds and viola! powdered. This makes is so when you take a bite of cake it is savory and almost melt in your mouth. There are no hard chunks, just wonderful, light, chocolatey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Well this may be My new favorite cake! Not real difficult to assemble. I didn't have the chocolate squares to grate I did have about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips I put in the food processor for a bit and toss them with some of the flour and added them. Wow those extra bites of chocolate are wow! The cake would be good without the added chocolate but who would want to do that? Really does have a brownie like flavor with the lightness of Angel food cake! Yep a keeper! will do again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noel, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Delicious! I am not a huge Angel Food Cake fan but this cake changed my mind. It was fluffy, moist and rich. I served it with whipped cream and fresh raspberries. It was a big hit. My husband loves angle food cake and he now has a new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made this last night and didn't exactly follow the instructions. I put too much cream of tartar and instead of mixing 1/2 the sugar with the dry ingredients, I mixed it all. So when I had to form stiff peaks I had to do it with the dry ingredient mixture. But it still came out fabulous! It was moist and had a great chocolate flavor. And you don't feel as bad eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayshay27
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
YUM!!! YUM!!! I used 1/3 cup of semi-sweet mini chocolate chips for the recipe. Also , I served it with homemade whipping cream and fresh strawberris!! Better than the plain one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayshay27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Needville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States