Chocolate Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
A family favorite - my sister-in-law's birthday request every year. A delicious take on a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
The best angel food cake i've ever made...but the directions would be difficult for someone who has never made an angelfood cake before. A bit more detail in the directions is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I've tried making homemade angel food cake 3 or 4 times and this was my first success. It took 13 eggs to make 2 cups. The eggs whipped up so high they nearly spilled over my kitchen aid mixer bowl but the texture of the cake was light and soft without being chewy--just the way an angel food cake should be. Oh, and I mixed in about 6 oz. of mini chocolate chips. Once cooled, I drizzled a chocolate ganache from this site over the top and sides. Some shaved chocolate swirls completed a lovely and (mostly) healthy birthday cake for my mom that every body loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
nice recipe, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
The first time I made this, I didn't whip the eggs long enough, so the cake was very dense. This time, I followed the directions to the tee, and it turned out WONDERFUL!!! Tastes like a 3 Musketeer bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
My first angelfood cake .. it probably helped that I was using a new KitchenAid mixer but boy was this a LARGE cake, moist and delicious. Fine texture and a very appealing chocolate flavor. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
Great cake! Not too sweet with lots of chocolate taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
When the recipe called for a large bowl for the egg whites and cream of tartar, they meant it. This was my first experience with an angle food cake. I didn't realize that the eggs would triple in size. The cake was absolutely wonderful. There was no need for a frosting. I served with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Topped with strawberries & strawberry juice, this was EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Great cake! We live in England - they don't sell "cake flour" here. We substituted 3T plain flour for 3T corn starch (called corn flour in the UK). It was just a little more dense, but still very tasty. It was a perfect birthday cake for my birthday. Served with strawberries and homemade whip cream with liquor. very yummy! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States