Chocolate Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a very delicious dessert and I recommend eating it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeeLightFul
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I was very happy with the way my cake turned out. It was fluffy with light, springy sponge texture exactly what to expect from an angel cake. A extra surprise part of this cake was the thin, crispy, brownie like crust of the exposed part of the cake. I used 12 egg white, large. It was about a 1/4 cup less of two cups. I used a KitchenAid stand mixer. It took a good 6-8 minutes mixing at a high medium speed to fluff up the egg whites to stiff. A stiff egg white looks and sits exactly like Cool Whip or marshmellow fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Great cake! I folded in a few TBS of grated bitersweet chocolate and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I really liked this moist and fluffy cake! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Excellent angel food cake with a satisfying chocolate flavor. I agree that the recipe is a little hard to follow, so here are a few things that might help: I got two cups of egg whites from 15 medium-to-large eggs; I added the vanilla with the salt and cream of tartar instead of at the end to avoid having to overstir the batter; and I used an ungreased tube pan that I inverted on a glass bottle once it came out of the oven -- let it cool completely and then run a knife around the edges to remove from the pan. Also, I didn't have cake flour, so I substituted by mixing 2 tablespoons of corn starch with enough all-purpose flour to make 1 cup total (1-1/2 teaspoon CS per quarter cup APF) -- the easiest way to do this is to put the corn starch in the bottom of the measuring cup and then to fill with AP flour. This substitution worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
The cake turned out wonderful. The recipe was very, very easy to follow. Everyone kept coming back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I thought this was a very good recipe. Almost too moist in my opinion. My husband requested I frost the entire cake so I made a dark chocolate butter cream frosting. (It was his birthday cake). I served it with fresh strawberries, homemade vanilla ice cream and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Excellent cake. Only thing I did different was I added the vanilla after I beat in the white sugar. I folded it in with a spatula. ALthough some complained, it is best when a recipe asks for egg whites in cups rather than in number of egg whites. That can vary too much because of the size of the egg. In general you will get 2 cups of whites out of anywhere from 14-16 large eggs. For those not sure what the mixture is supposed to look like at the various stages, you need to check a cookbook or look for photos online. It is hard to describe. That is not the fault of the author. I have served this cake plain, with ice cream and with whipped cream and raspberry sauce. It is loved all ways!!! Enjoy this great recipe!!!! Suggestion: After whipping up the egg whites, transfer to a very large bowl before you add the flour. Otherwise it will be very difficult to do. This recipe makes a large volume of egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
AH MA ZING! Healthy, Low Fat, All natural and a wonderful chocolate flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAS23
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Simple, delicious and chocolatey without the sin. The only thing I would do different next time is to possibly use chocolate extract instead of vanilla for an extra chocolate kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States