Chocolate Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
In just one word AMAZING, I did add chocolate chips as another cook had previously suggested. I brought this to my Pastor and he told me it was to die for! Thank Heaven for this angel of a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
In my recipe which is like this I bake at 350 and works fine. A great frosting is 3oz pkg instant choc fudge jello pudding and 3 oz pkg instant devils food pudding mix. Make with 3 cups milk (total) and beat till thick. Then mix with wisk or fold with spatula into large thawed Cool whip. Must then keep cake refrigerated but it is so darn good it is worth it. My family BEGS for this for birthdays. Also seperate the eggs from the yolks while they are cold but then allow the whites to get room temp and you will find that they will beat up to a much larger volume and it will make your cake much higher. When seperating eggs they work better cold and do not tend to break yolks as easy as when warm but you MUST allow to be room temp to whip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Liegel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Love it! I use a 16 oz carton of liquid egg whites (costs the same as a carton of eggs and waaay less work and waste). The first time I made this I used a Bundt pan and chocolate glaze frosting and it was perfect. (Though most of the family thought the chocolate glaze was a little much on the chocolate cake). My grandfather has requested this for his 84th birthday cake, so you know it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This is the best Angel food cake I have ever eaten. I have a small flock of chickens on our farm & I always have more eggs than we can eat. This is the perfect treat for my beautiful eggs. I LOVE chocolate so I put in 1/2 cup & boy was it GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
My husband said he didn't really care that much for angel food cake... until he tasted this one! But I did make a couple of changes: I cut down the powdered sugar to 3/4 cup, and substituted Ghiradelli sweetened cocoa powder + 2 TB dark cocoa. Also reduced vanilla to 1 tsp and added a tsp of Kahlua, adding them before the flour. Mixing speed is important. Instead of using high speed to beat the egg whites, start on low speed until the whites are broken down and frothy; add salt and cream of tartar and beat at medium speed until the egg whites form billowy mounds. Add sugar, 2 TB at a time, keeping speed set to medium, until all sugar is incorporated and soft peaks form. DO NOT beat until egg whites are stiff; that makes it hard to fold the flour in without deflating the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momcook
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is an excellent cake. Easy to make as long as you already bake. Directions should be more detailed for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Attempt number one was interesting....and I'm sure it's my inexperience that caused it....but the flavor was great...but the texture was just spongey....but not in the good angel food way. So - my 2nd attempt is in the oven....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The cake did not turn out as expected. Instead of being fluffy and springy it was a bit rubbery and I think I must have missed something in translation of the recipe. It still tasted ok but just not as good as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Awesome! I made this for a party last evening. Used dark chocolate cocoa powder. I made a raspberry sauce to serve on top. It was soooo good! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kirk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Jackson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great favorite! Made this twice now with great success. I buy “Simply Eggwhites” for this recipe and used the recipe without any changes. I served it sliced with a dusting of icing sugar and fresh raspberries for a healthier and most enjoyable dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States