Chocolate Almond Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I am the one who submitted this recipe and I guess I was in a hurry because the introduction sounds like it was written by my 4 year old. It should read: This is "a" quick and delicious snack...Sorry for the screw-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This pudding was a hit thanks. Thickened up beautifully and I had no lumps...even without using a whisk. Just keep stirring like mad. Have also tried this recipe with peppermint essence instead of the almond and it was divine! Kids want me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Finally, an easy, straightforward chocolate pudding recipe! Of course, I modified a little... Combo of almond milk and soy milk; used Sucanat instead of sugar and reduced to 3 Tbs; stirred in handful of Ghiradelli chips at the end and topped with slivered almonds and dried unsweetened coconut. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
The almond flavoring dominated the chocolate, masking all other flavors. Could not get it to thicken at all. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very easy and very tasty! To the person who complained that it didn't thicken up...cornstarch will break down if whisked (or stirred) too much. The trick is to stir until it comes to a boil, cook no more than 2 minutes. Cooking longer and stirring too much will cause it to thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This was a cinch to put together, that's for sure. I prepared this as written save for doubling up on the vanilla and omitting the almond which just didn't appeal to me. I used a very good quality cocoa so it was deeply chocolate. It had great chocolate flavor but something was missing; a smoothness, a richness, a silkiness. This was just, well, flat tasting. And then it occurred to me - the recipe did not call for a little butter to be stirred in at the end with the vanilla as it typically is with cooked custards like this. And it was deeply missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Just made this recipe and it was excellent. So easy. I even lightened it up by using skim milk and splenda and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Oh yummy. Perfect for when you're jonesing for a quick jolt of chocolate. Nice and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
DAIRY-FREE OPTION: Use almond milk. Great recipe for my GFCF kids! I left out the almond extract. Simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was excellent, super easy and very satisfying. I used almond milk and just a drop of almond extract. I liked the almond flavor and was very surprised that my five year old did, too! I thought it would be too "grown up" for her, but I was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States