Chocolate Almond Marble Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong but this dessert turned out gooey even after 6 hours of cooling, it's still in my oven so this review may be false after time. If anyone would give me tips or advice? My filling even turned yellow and a little brown after adding the eggs and chocolate. Taste too much like cream cheese. Family was very displeased, but we will try it tomorrow after it's been cooled and settled (hopefully)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kmandre
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I've made this cheesecake 4 times now. It comes out perfectly every time! I have made afew adjustments. I add vanilla extract only. Add alittle pinch of cinnamon to the crust. I also add walnuts finely chopped instead of almonds. I've increased the nuts to 1 cup and it's very yummy. Also, I only use about 1 cup of the filling to mix into the melted chocolate. Make sure the eggs/sour cream/cream cheese are all at room temp. I will even microwave my cream cheese in a bowl for about 30 seconds just to make sure it's nice and soft. Good luck and happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
very good cake. not too rich was well enjoyed by everyone this is one of the better cheese cake recipes i have seen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Very good and very easy. Only changes I made was 1 cup of butter for crust, and increased baking time to 55 minutes. Made for my daughter's 21st birthday, was a bit hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
ALMOND is the key word. That is the dominant taste. I will lessen the amount of extract next time. May do 1/2vanilla1/2almond extract. Yes, there will be a next time. Creamy and easy to make. I suggest a water bath also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
A nice, creamy cheesecake. Not great flavor, but very good. Like most cooks I have a few suggestions. 1) Wrap the springform pan with foil! The crust calls for A LOT of butter - next time I'd use half - so a lot of oil seeped out during baking. 2) I used chocolate filled oreos for the crust, gave it a great flavor. 3) added a dash of vanilla, too, as well as a pinch of salt: I always feel that enhances a sweet dish. The baking times/methods were perfect, I just loosened the sides of the cake from the pan while it was still warm. No cracks (though , other than the initial presentation, I don't know what all the "crack-fuss" is about. So a cheesecake cracks, so what? It doesn't affect the taste one iota; and let's face it, after the first slice no one would notice anyway! All-in-all, a nice creamy texture and not too dense (like some recipes in this genre tend to be).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This cheesecake was delicious! I did not add sugar to the crust and I substituted greek yogurt for half of the sour cream. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Good and easy to make cheesecake. I didn't have chocolate cookies to make the crust so I used other cookies and added some cocoa. The taste wasn't quite as it should be but there's no way I'm docking a star for something I did to the recipe. I'll be making it again with the chocolate cookies. Served with whipped cream. By the way, I followed the baking instructions - i.e. leaving it in the closed oven for an hour after baking and - NO cracks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Wonderful! Everyone raved about this dessert, especially the crust. The only thing that needed changing is the ratio of melted butter to the crust mixture. If you make the given amount of crust (3 cups of chocolate cookie crumbs, which yields a thicker crust) then you need a full cup of melted butter. If you make a thinner crust of 2 cups of chocolate crumbs, then a half cup should be fine. For the cookie crumbs, I used chocolate animal crackers, but realized after the fact that chocolate graham crackers would have worked great as well. I almost left out the almond pieces in the crust, but they were actually one of the complimented aspects. And for those who don't like nuts--you can't taste it at all. I did use the full teaspoon of almond extract, and although I could really taste it in the batter, didn't think it was too strong in the finished product. I definitely wouldn't use more, but don't feel that less is needed unless you hate the taste of almond. The marble effect turned out well even though the "swirling" method with a knife didn't work for me; I think this method will only work if you pour the smaller amount of chocolate batter on the crust first and then pour the remaining vanilla batter on top. Be sure to follow instructions with baking and cooling. I didn't refrigerate overnight (4 hours before serving was sufficient), but be sure the cake is at room temperature before chilling otherwise it might crack. This will surely be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Delicious! Sweet and yet a bit tart. The whole family loved it. I cooked it on a lower temp for about 25 mins longer, however it still ended up cracking. Good thing cracks don't alter the scrumptious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States