Chocolate Almond Marble Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Wonderful! Everyone raved about this dessert, especially the crust. The only thing that needed changing is the ratio of melted butter to the crust mixture. If you make the given amount of crust (3 cups of chocolate cookie crumbs, which yields a thicker crust) then you need a full cup of melted butter. If you make a thinner crust of 2 cups of chocolate crumbs, then a half cup should be fine. For the cookie crumbs, I used chocolate animal crackers, but realized after the fact that chocolate graham crackers would have worked great as well. I almost left out the almond pieces in the crust, but they were actually one of the complimented aspects. And for those who don't like nuts--you can't taste it at all. I did use the full teaspoon of almond extract, and although I could really taste it in the batter, didn't think it was too strong in the finished product. I definitely wouldn't use more, but don't feel that less is needed unless you hate the taste of almond. The marble effect turned out well even though the "swirling" method with a knife didn't work for me; I think this method will only work if you pour the smaller amount of chocolate batter on the crust first and then pour the remaining vanilla batter on top. Be sure to follow instructions with baking and cooling. I didn't refrigerate overnight (4 hours before serving was sufficient), but be sure the cake is at room temperature before chilling otherwise it might crack. This will surely be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Delicious! Sweet and yet a bit tart. The whole family loved it. I cooked it on a lower temp for about 25 mins longer, however it still ended up cracking. Good thing cracks don't alter the scrumptious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Excellent! Very strong chocolate and almond taste. Followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This cheesecake turned out to be great! so easy to make, I just followed the recipe. I also used chocolate fudge cookies and baked in water bath. My husband said this is the best cheesecake he has ever eaten ))) Edit!!! I AM MAKING IT AGAIN 2 WEEKS AFTER THE FIRST ONE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Served at Easter and everybody loved it, although my husband thought the almond flavor was too much. I think it's just a matter of personal taste as I thought it was a perfect amount. Also, I used gluten free chocolate cookies for the crust so that my sister could enjoy it and you'd never know the difference. I'm glad I followed the advice of using the water bath although it did make me very nervous because the foil came off with all buttery water inside it which made me think the crust got water-logged. But it didn't and was just fine. Pretty great for my first attempt at cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is a really great recipe. I changed the almond for vanilla though, and made mini cheesecakes with it. One fell into a container and broke, and since I didn't have the heart to waste food, I simply kept it in the container and put it in the fridge. The next day there was only 20% left. I overheard it was so yummy, my sis ate it anyway. (despite the not too appealing appearence!) As usual, I didn't add sugar to the base, since the graham cracker crumbs are sweet enough already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
delicious cheesecake...did have a strong almond flavour, but we all loved it. Baked in a water bath and turned out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmCooks
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Made this for Christmas Eve. Delicious and beautiful!! Make sure you bake cheesecake in a waterbath and after it bakes for indicated time, turn oven off and let cheesecake sit for an hour. This way it won't crack! Also, I added a teaspoon of almond extract to a cup of whipped cream and some powdered sugar and whipped for a VERY YUMMY whipped cream garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Absolutely delicious dessert with an elegant and beautiful presentation. I made this for a tree decorating dinner and it was a BIG hit!! Will definitely make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
WONDERFUL RECIPE. I FIXED THIS WHEN WE HAD COMPANY, AND THEY ALL LOVED IT. IT IS BETTER AFTER IT SETS A DAY. THE ALMOND EXTRACT CALLED FOR IS JUST RIGHT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States