Chocolate Almond Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was just pretty average - nothing special. Milk chocolate was maybe, the wrong choice - I think it needed a bolder, darker chocolate. Not enough almonds and I would have liked a firmer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very easy, yet delicious! I melted the chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet) and shortening in the microwave ,then stired in the toasted almonds (I used sliced) and a large handful of dried cherries. Be sure to store it in the fridge, it gets soft and messy very quickly. Nice enough for gift giving, simple enough to make anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanna
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I used sliced almonds because that was all I had. I had to do toast two batches of almonds because the first one burnt fairly quickly. As for the chocolate, I used regular nestle milk chocolate chips, so it wasn't amazingly delicious, but it wasn't bad at all either. I didn't like the fact that it cannot stand room temperature for more than 10 min without becoming soft. I think if I were to make it again, I would use a better quality chocolate because that's pretty much all I can taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I would leave out the shortening next time. The shortening makes the chocolate stay soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
So easy! That is a bonus when making a bunch of holiday treats. I did however burn my first batch of toasted almonds. I turned my head for what seemed like a second and they were unusable. So, watch them like a hawk and the whole recipe will be perfect. I left the baking sheet in the fridge over night (just forgot) and in the morning the bark was still good. I think next time I will try dark chocolate chips for a richer flavor. I think this was a bit milky for my taste but many people love milk chocolate. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
So good, so fast! I did change a few things, doubled the batch added more almonds, put in half the shortening and added a few drops of almond oil, BEYOND Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
How crazy simple and crazy yummy is this???? Just make sure to keep an eye on the almonds when you're toasting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very easy, very tasty! I didn't have shortening, so I substituted butter. It took a little longer to harden, but this is a keeper. The toasting of the almonds makes the bark better than most recipes. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Super easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I didn't think the almonds needed to be roasted before hand. I thought it just gave the bark a weird taste when it was finished. Next time I will try just coarsly chopping my whole almonds and dropping them in. I also thought the recipe should have been doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States