Chocolate Almond Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I thought this was good, although I probably really didn't need a recipe for this. I made 1/2 recipe and used dark chocolate and butter instead of shortening. Almost all nuts today come roasted, so I didn't bother toasting them further. When they aren't raw, cooking them further almost makes them taste burnt in my opinion. To save time, I also melted the chocolate chips in the microwave. My only issue with the recipe is like most all chocolate today, even though I used dark, the chocolate still tastes so sweet to me. Using a salted nut, may have helped with that. My chocolate wasn't perfectly smooth after adding the nuts either, but unless it is commercial it is to be expected. I liked the idea of saving half of the almonds to put them on top. I think, it could have used even more nuts and cashews would have been pretty good too. I broke it into about 1 1/2" pieces for a treat when the chocolate cravings hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was a huge hit in the holiday baking gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Wanted a quick hostess gift over the holidays. This not only fit the bill, I made some to send to out of state friends and took some to the bridge club. Everyone loved it. One of my best friends is a chocoholic and she couldn't get enough. And it's so easy to make. Followed the directions to the letter and it came out perfect. And it shipped beautifully! This recipe will definitely come in handy in the future. Thanks, BUCHKO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Suggestions for keeping the chocolate firm at room temperature?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Confused the picture looks like it has two types of chocolate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Great basic recipe! I tweaked ours slightly, but it is the same concept. I used dark chocolate so my husband would eat it and left out the shortening. I added a sprinkle on cinnamon across the top as it is drying before I cut the bark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I gave this only 2 stars because it may be my fault that this ended up in the trash. The chocolate didn't melt soft or smooth enough. I couldn't spread it at all. unfortunally even if it is my fault I won't make this again. sorry I like this for parties too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
As is this recipe is fine. I used sliced almonds, melted the chocolate in my crock pot on low, and used M+Ms on top. One thing to note, as you double the recipe I used half semisweet half milk chocolate otherwise it would have been too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Mmmmmm. I used a good quality milk chocolate which made this especially creamy and good. I also used whole, roasted salted almonds, which I chopped very coarsely. I loved the sweet/salty contrast. I made it easy on myself and just dropped the mixture into miniature foil baking/candy cups. So cute and a good way to help with portion control!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Made as written with the addition of some dried cherries. Loved the chewy, crunchy chocolatey combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States