Choco-coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by Julia
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
this recipe is very good. I followed the recipe exactly except at the end I poured 2 cups of melted chcolate over the coconut and then cut it into small bars and sandwiched 2 together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by recipe_fanatic!
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I first tried this when the chocolate was still wet, and it didn't taste very good, but when it hardened, it was just delicious!!! I definately would reccomend this to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipe_fanatic!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Easy, excellent recipe! I topped each small square with a small piece of candied ginger, others with a few grains of kosher salt and others with chocolate flakes! Too me no time to prepare and the hostess and guests loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Very quick and easy. I opted out of the dipping and just put the chocolate on top of the coconut mixture. Tastes just like the candy bar. Very rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
The best! I took reviewer's advice and rolled into balls. Dipped half in dark chocolate and half in milk chocolate. The dark is far superior! Thanks for the great recipe - I will use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
these are so yummy! a definite must for the holidays. i like to roll the coconut mixture into balls and then dip in chocolate. have also added an almond to the top of the balls before too. both ways are great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
These are so awesome! I love coconut and I add coconut extract as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSTHECOOKAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
These were fabulous! one of our children is allergic to peanuts and treenuts and cannot even come into contact with them, so our home is completely nut free (along with other food items he's allergic to). One of my hubby's favorite candies is "Mounds", so I tried this recipe so he can still have them. He loves them! they are a bit time consuming, but the kids love helping make them, it turned out to be a great rainy day project! We rolled them into balls, then mushed and flattened them into kind of flat egg-shapes. I put them close together on a wire rack (placed over a jelly roll pan to catch drips), then carefully poured melted cocolate over them. I transfered the rack onto another pan then chilled for about 5 min to set the cocolate. then re-melted the "drippings" and dipped the bottoms in one at a time and let them set again. I reccomend using plastic food safe gloves over your hands if your hands tend to be hot like mine, so you don't melt the chocolate that is already on them. For my husband, he likes extra chocolate so i re-dipped a few in chocolate for him to give it an extra thick coat. since the candies already had a cocolate "crust" i didn't have any trouble dipping at all. We will definately make this again and again! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
great recipe- i added an almond on top- to make it taste like an Almond Joy bar. I had no problem dipping it into the chocolate- but I ended up using double the amount of chocolate the recipe calls for. Next time,I would cut the bars into smaller pieces- this is a very rich dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States