Chocaroon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My fiance LOVED this cake and I would never change a thing. He does not even like sweets and he asked for this cake every day. Does not even need icing according to him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maritimeukranian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was super good and very easy to make....I did follow Sunnybyrd and use store bought chocolate frosting which I microwaved and poured over the bundt cake. Also topped with toasted coconut. My friends loved it...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I had box of cake mix to use up, so I made this. I like the coconut filling, but a bit of almond extract might be a nice addition. I didn't have chocolate pudding mix, but I did have vanilla pudding, so I added cocoa powder to it. The only thing I didn't like about this cake was that it tasted like chemicals, but what do you expect with boxed cake mix and pudding mix? I didn't frost mine, but I think it would be nice with a chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Excellent cake! I only had 3 eggs so I had to do a little substituting and it still turned out wonderfully! My flaked coconut was also "sweetened" so I only added half the sugar just so it wouldn't be overly sweet and that was perfect. I made a chocolate glaze frosting (satiny chocolate glaze from allrecipes) and coconut on top and it was perfect. I would definitely make this again and recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Did I do something wrong?? Macaroon? WRONG, tastes nothing like macaroons, and It did not taste very well. I could hardly taste the coconut in the center. Maybe You should double the filling, to try and save it I used cream cheese frosting, and toasted coconut. Dont think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is delicious - even better than the Bundt cake mixes I remember. I do recommend using a stand mixer for this recipe. This batter is extremely heavy because of the pudding mix. I used Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site as a topping. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Just something I came up with for the filling to make it much easier and it is so good. Mix 3 cups of coconut, 1 can sweetened condensed milk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Beautiful presentation, and cake. It was fun to make and deliciously enjoyed by all. Thank you. I did use the Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze by TUNISIANSWIFE on top :)>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was an okay recipe. It wasn't nearly as sweet as I expected it to be (I didn't add any kind of topping). I was mostly disappointed in the coconut mix on the inside. It wasn't creamy like I expected it to be. I might try this again one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I made this cake for a work party of my husband's that I wasn't able to go to. I often send cakes to work with him, so I was specifically asked to make a 'chocolate macaroon cake.' The only problem I had with the cake was that it started to rise too fast and furiously and I almost lost it over the top of my pan. I turned the oven down to 325 (which is what I usually bake cakes at, anyway) and it calmed down enough to stay put. For the glaze, I melted prepared chocolate frosting and added coconut and almond flavoring.I garnished the cake with toasted coconut and chopped toasted almonds. The verdict: H reported back that the cake was "awesome" and "better than the macaroon cake from Larry's Market Bakery." So thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States