Choc-Oat-PB Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good!! Even with a few substitutions, they came out great! (I had only 6 tbsp butter & used 2% milk.) The suggestion to stir on med heat until the sugar dissolved was a big help. Family loved them. So easy, so good and so going into my dessert rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
My husband gave this 5 stars. Next time I think I will use slightly less sugar and slightly more oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Couldn't get this to set up, and I was at the stove a long while stirring this. The picture doesn't really represent what this recipe looks like, imo. Though the flavor is ok, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
My co-workers couldn't get enough! I brought breakfast and this was the first to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These bars were delicious! They were quite sweet and I even reduced the sugar! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Just like the no bake cookies I ate as a kid...even better in bar form. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Imagine a bowl with equal amounts of oatmeal and sugar poured in, and just a tad of peanut butter. That is what this dessert tastes like to me, which shouldn't have been a surprise given the ratio of ingredients called for in this recipe. I even cut the sugar down to 1 cup, but it was still so terribly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
So much more convienant in bars than the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
these are great as long as you boil long enough for the sugar to compleatly disolve otherwise they will be gooy and not set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I think I made too many tweaks and substitutions on my first attempt at this one. It did harden for me but seems too dry and crumbly. If I had used evaporated milk, a little more sugar (I cut it too much from what the recipe called for), and a little less of the oats, I think it would be perfect. Definitely worth trying again with the correct ingredients. Good recipe but I messed it up...still edible though, it's chocolate! I might put a caramel topping of some sort on top to try to salvage it. I also want to try a version with flaked coconut instead of peanut butter, and almond extract instead of (or in addition to) vanilla. Maybe chopped dried cherries too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caraloopy Loopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States