Chive Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I used fat free evaporated milk in place of the cream. I did not use the whole amount, just enough to make it "creamy". I just increased the chicken broth just a touch to make up for the missing liquid. I also added fresh ground pepper. Pretty good--I was surprized at how filling it was. I did miss garlic and onion. When I make this again (and I will make this again), I will add a little chopped onion and fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I'm not a fan of mushroom soup so I didn't personally taste it but Hubs declared it a keeper and said he would eat it every day. I rough chopped the mushrooms I had left and I may have had more than 1 cup. I used chicken broth for almost the entire 2 cups of required liquid with about 1/4 cup of skim milk just to make it creamy. I dumped in about a T of dried chives. I can't wait to have fresh chives to use this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This soup is perfectly seasoned and the "soup" is just the right consistency for dipping a rustic bread into. Flavors are right on, no fancy spices, just pure flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Delicious. I made it twice in a weekend. The first time I used baby bella mushrooms and the second time shitake . Just enough salt and the mustard and butter really compliment the mushrooms. Makes a great first course, my company loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Yum! Great, simple, quick soup! Made it vegan with Earth Balance instead of butter, and soy milk instead of half and half, and veggie broth. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Very good & creamy, but a little bland. After I added garlic it was much much better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aprilh
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Delicious! I sauteed onion and garlic along with the mushrooms to add a little flavor. I also added a lot more mushrooms than called for...you never can get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Really good! I tripled the recipe and sliced half of my mushrooms, chopping the rest because I like a little more texture. Minus some of the liquid, this would be a really good sub for Cream of Soup in a can - but tastier, of course. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Excellent! Hubs and I eat a good deal of our meals in fine restaurants all over the country and he, a man of few words, declared this "restaurant quality." I added some finely chopped onion and garlic, a tad more mushrooms, and used Penzey's shallot salt for the salt called for, otherwise sticking to the recipe as written. The submitter is right by describing this as having "a wonderful fresh mushroom flavor." This was a quick but very satisfying meal along with grilled cheese sandwiches on homemade bread. Really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was good. I don't think 5 stars good...but I enjoyed it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States