Chipotle Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I thought it was amazing. I used all 20 oz of the turkey, all of both peppers, and about 3/4 of the onion. This was my first experience with chilies in adobo sauce. After a quick taste, I ended up adding the whole can; I like a good heat. Rather than corn bread, which I didn't have, I cooked about 1.75 uncooked brown rice to which I stirred in shredded mozzarella cheese. Once everything was in the baking dish, I spooned on the rice/cheese concoction, and evened it out. Then baked per the instructions. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
We really enjoyed this and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Everyone liked this. I substituted corn for the green peppers, since no one eats them. If you take the seeds out of the chipotle peppers it really helps reduce the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very tasty! I as well noticed the first two reviews had misread the recipe. You are supposed to use only two PEPPERS from the can, not too cans. I found it was spicy, but not overwhelming, and I'm very sensitive to spicy food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
My husband and I LOVE this recipe. I put in a whole pound to turkey - but other than that, the spiciness and flavor are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My husband and I like spicy food so it was good but a little to much kick for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this, and while we thought it was hot, it wasn't anywhere near too hot for us. I think the other reviewers may have misread the recipe, which calls for two chipotle peppers, not two cans of chipotle peppers. That being said, we do like our food hot, and may even add another pepper or two next time. I did make some changes though. I used a pound of turkey, cooked with one medium chopped onion and about 5 minced garlic cloves. I didn't have bell peppers, but would like to use them next time. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of stewed, and although I thought I had kidney beans, I didn't, so I used the only type of beans I had, which were great northern. I was a little nervous about this, but we actually really liked how they complemented the turkey. I didn't have any cilantro, and am not a huge fan of it anyway. I also used fat free shredded cheese.All of this was baked in a 9 X 13 pan. Because of the larger pan, I wish I could have doubled the cornbread topping, but I didn't have two boxes of cornbread mix. Next time I will. With such a thin layer of topping (didn't even cover the whole top) it baked in 10 minutes. We will definately enjoy this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was a tasty dish, but far too spicy for the average family. I only used 2/3 of the chipotle peppers, and my kids still couldn't eat it, although the adults thought it was good. I suggest cutting down on the chipotles, and adding something cooling like sour cream when serving this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Normally, spicy foods are never a problem with my household. However, this recipe was very spicy with only one jar of chipotle peppers. I may recommend cooking it in a slightly larger dish if you don't prefer a thick crust of cornbread, or only use half of the cornbread mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States