Chipotle Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I scaled the recipe down, and unfortunately managed to forget the cilantro, but did add bacon - which is a great counterpoint to the smoky spiciness of chipotles, IMO. I also used roasted garlic instead of fresh, and will definitely make this dish again. *Update* - and again, and again - this is a go-to in my house now, I just love it. But I have to give a warning about chipotles in adobo - they seem to have been getting hotter and hotter with each can, it seems. So make sure to start slowly, adding more as necessary to bring the potatoes up to your preferred heat level. And while I don't seed my chipotles, you might if you are more spice-sensitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I used 2 large potatoes and halved everything else in the recipe. I took out the seeds in the chipotle but might leave half the seeds next time. I was afraid it would be too spicy if I left the seeds but they weren't. Maybe using all the chipotle seeds would have been too much though. Used all white cheddar cheese but I think any cheese would have been good in these potatoes. Excellent potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Mmm! I don't eat potatoes often (perhaps because growing up it was always "meat n potatoes", and still today Sunday dinners with the family include them) but decided to buy some cute baby reds from the farmers market. I like the skins, so I didn't peel them, or cube, just boiled. I skipped the garlic since I didn't think I'd like it in this raw and didn't feel like cooking it. Added a shredded cheese blend and milk...skipped the mayo and cilantro. Loved the flavor and textural components: smoky and just spicy enough, creamy with the right amount of chunky texture, cheesy and flavorful. Bacon would certainly be a great addition, maybe with some sliced scallion and it would be reminscent of a loaded baked potato. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
We all loved these potatoes. I made them exactly as stated. We have also used this recipe for double stuffed potatoes, even better. They have a nice bite without being too much, great for a bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
amazing! 1 pepper for mild; 2 for spicy; 2 + sauce for caliente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a great twist on regular mashed potatoes. I recommend mixing everything and then adding the Chipotle peppers. It could be very spicy, just add some and taste until it's spicy enough for youl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is a super spicy smashed potato recipie. So if you like spicy you will probably like this. I made it for a work function and everyone raved! I did mark it spicy. I made it just the way it reads and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Great recipe.A real change from the reg. mashed pototes....but why call for low fat Mayo? A high calorie recipe.I used regular mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I am a very traditional mashed tater person: butter, sr.cream, milk, salt, pepper, maybe a touch of garlic, so, I really went out of my comfort zone to try this recipe. It was great without the cheese! I tried it again with the cheese and didn't care too much for it but I don't like cheese in or on my potatoes. Thanks for sharing a great variation of an old traditional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
We tried as written & can only give 2 stars. We'll try again w/some changes - more butter, milk, less chipotle pepper, maybe more cheese & cilantro. If this works it'll probably be a 3 or 4 star rating. My hubby thought these were very dry & the chipotle flavor overpowered everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States