Chipotle Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I used 2 large potatoes and halved everything else in the recipe. I took out the seeds in the chipotle but might leave half the seeds next time. I was afraid it would be too spicy if I left the seeds but they weren't. Maybe using all the chipotle seeds would have been too much though. Used all white cheddar cheese but I think any cheese would have been good in these potatoes. Excellent potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I scaled the recipe down, and unfortunately managed to forget the cilantro, but did add bacon - which is a great counterpoint to the smoky spiciness of chipotles, IMO. I also used roasted garlic instead of fresh, and will definitely make this dish again. *Update* - and again, and again - this is a go-to in my house now, I just love it. But I have to give a warning about chipotles in adobo - they seem to have been getting hotter and hotter with each can, it seems. So make sure to start slowly, adding more as necessary to bring the potatoes up to your preferred heat level. And while I don't seed my chipotles, you might if you are more spice-sensitive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I am a very traditional mashed tater person: butter, sr.cream, milk, salt, pepper, maybe a touch of garlic, so, I really went out of my comfort zone to try this recipe. It was great without the cheese! I tried it again with the cheese and didn't care too much for it but I don't like cheese in or on my potatoes. Thanks for sharing a great variation of an old traditional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
These were a really nice change from traditional potatoes. As other reviewers suggested add the chipotle SLOWLY. The heat can sneak up on you quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
We all loved these potatoes. I made them exactly as stated. We have also used this recipe for double stuffed potatoes, even better. They have a nice bite without being too much, great for a bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Great recipe.A real change from the reg. mashed pototes....but why call for low fat Mayo? A high calorie recipe.I used regular mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
amazing! 1 pepper for mild; 2 for spicy; 2 + sauce for caliente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is a super spicy smashed potato recipie. So if you like spicy you will probably like this. I made it for a work function and everyone raved! I did mark it spicy. I made it just the way it reads and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
So delicious! A nice twist on classic mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I, for once, have nothing to add to this. Fantastic in all regards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States