Chipotle Shrimp Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Here's my five-star version, which is a clone of a menu item at an upscale Mexican restaurant in my town: Use peeled and deveined raw shrimp (medium size) - marinate shrimp in the sauce from one small can of chiles in adobo (discard the chiles), a generous pinch of cayenne pepper (we like it hot!), juice of two limes, and two tablespoons of flour (thickens the mixture so it stays on during cooking). Marinate for at least 30 minutes. Preheat a skillet on high heat, add shrimp, cook 3-4 minutes or until shrimp are done. Serve in warmed white corn tortillas (2 tortillas per taco - Mexican restaurants almost always double-wrap corn tortilla tacos). Garnish each taco with a slice of avocado and a sprinkle of fresh cilantro. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
These shrimp were so easy and quick to make. Of course, the hardest part is making and prepping the items to put with it and shelling the shrimp. I made fresh corn tortillas and fresh guacamole as well as Best Black Beans from this site. A fresh pico de gallo or salsa to go with it would have even been better.The fresher the shrimp the better these tacos will be. Be sure to keep moving the shrimp around so that the bottom ones do not get too done too quickly. Do not cook the shrimp too long as they will get tough. Also use a high quality, robust flavored bacon for best flavor. I was able to cut down the quantity of the bacon to 8 oz and still had enough flavor and pieces to go with the shrimp. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing...my husband gobbled it up and thanked me profusely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
My husband cooked this tonight and it was AMAZING! The one and only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because he used only 1 chipotle pepper instead of 3. I really love spicy foods and have a pretty high tolerance for spicyness and the 1 pepper made this dish firey hot! I would not have enjoyed it if it was any hotter. We will definitely be keeping this recipe to use again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I made these for some friends last weekend, and they were very good. Three peppers isn't enough, though. I used five and everyone's opinion was they probably needed two more. Still, a fun and easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Awesome recipe! I made a few alterations, used whole onion, 1 lb of raw medium shrimp. Kept everything else the same and my family devoured this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
These were soooo good! They were easy to make. We figured out how important the lime juice was to this recipe when we prepared one taco with and one without. The one without the lime juice was pretty spicy. The one with was neutralized and really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made a couple of adjustments due to personal taste and what was on hand. I used canned chipotle sauce (minus the chiles) that was left over from another recipe this week. I also marinated the shrimp for about 6 hours in the juice of half a lime. I had mine without cilantro, and really liked it. Husband had his with, and thought it was good but not great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
These were very good and easy to prepare. I used raw shrimp instead of cooked. I also put more Chipotle peppers, but that made them very hot. My whole family really enjoyed them and I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
WOW...just WOW. Awesome recipe. Don't change a thing. Thanks rvelasquez for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Echols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Really light and fresh, and just the right kick of spice! I heated the tortillas until slightly crispy, and topped with pico de gallo! Both my fiance and I really liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States