Chipotle Shrimp Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Since we recently discovered we love chipotle, I've been making recipes that include it. This dish did deliver great chipotle flavor, but it had a few flaws. The biggest problem was that the shrimp mixture got very juicy. The juices were the most flavorful part of the dish, but if you put them on the taco they would make the tortilla mushy. So we kind of ended up eating it as a soup instead. A more minor problem, related to the first, was that the bacon was soggy. I'll keep this recipe in mind the next time I want a flavorful soup. I will add some vegetables and sprinkle bacon on top instead of stirring it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
These were delicious, although super spicy. I LOVE spicy foods, but I'm definitely going to use a little less peppers next time. It was almost at the point of too hot to taste. Added some avocado into the tacos to bring down the spice a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I love spicy food, but this was way to spicy for me! much better with no peppers,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I have to say, I was very skeptical about this recipe. I was worried it would be scorching hot (as I've used a smidgeon of the chiptole adobe in stuff and found it over the top). Surprisiingly..after only using one chiptole pepper, I went back and added the other two. Also, I didn't think there would be enough "sauce" to add flavor or cover the shrimp...but it worked just great! The lime really is the key to cutting the heat and leaving mostly flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My boyfriend and I made these last night for a dinner party with my parents...they were a big hit!! My bf was skeptical at first, bacon isn't a common ingredient in shrimp tacos, but it turned out really yummy. We followed the recipe to a T....insted of corn tortillas though we used wholewheat tortillas, and threw on some sour cream and homemade guac. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This deserves 10 stars!!! This is by far one of the best tacos I have ever eaten. My husband and daughters absolutely love this dish. I have made it twice in the past 7 days. The only thing I do different is I add the cilantro and half of the lime juice to the pan after I add the shrimp. Wonderful!!!! Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAG16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
We enjoyed these very much, even my son said they were "awesome". I minced up two chipotle peppers, seeds and all with some of the adobo sauce and squeezed two small fresh limes over it. Marinated the shrimp in that for about an hour before cooking. I felt it was just the right amount of heat. My husband got into the bacon for breakfast in the morning so I only had four slices of thick bacon, but really that was plenty and I enjoyed the little crunches of bacon, but didn't feel so guilty about eating so much fat....heck the recipe calls for almost a lb. of bacon. I didn't have any corn tortillas, so used taco sized flour tortillas. But I would think corn would probably taste much better, and flour got kind of sloppy to eat with. Or you could do like my son did and wrap it like a burrito. Served with Best Black Beans on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was really simple and really delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. The 3 chipotle peppers definitely give it some heat, but not too much. I made a slaw from a fish taco recipe with shredded cabbage, lime juice, diced tomato, green onions, cilantro, olive oil and salt and piled it on top of the shrimp. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
It was sooo hot, I could barely eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I was very surprise by this dish. The tacos came out bite-sized & delishous; would be great finger-food for entertaining. As written, there is a pretty strong spicy kick (almost too much for my wife)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States