Chipotle Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. Instead of yogurt (because I didn't have any), I substituted it for Sour Cream. I also added a tablespoon of honey and then blended it all together. My husband isn't big on spicy food, so instead of using the chilies, I just used a tablespoon of the adobo sauce. It was excellent and the perfect compliment to my empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I love this sauce! It is a must have now when I make tacos. I've been making mine with plain greek yogurt for a little more tangy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Needs lime! And salt! Made it myself- love the idea, but I kept tasting it and it needed acid and salt. So I added them and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent taste. I did like some others did, added some cumin to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I love how simple this recipe is, and it does have good flavor by following it. I did add a bit more chipotle to it and a pinch of sugar and some pepper. I don't really know if those two ingredients made a big difference to it but its still really great! I had them on Steak and Egg burritos and my boyfriend thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was very easy and very good but I agree with other users about the lack of depth of flavor. Next time I make it, I will add cumin to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
chipotle and yogurt... not the best combination for my household. It wasn't terrible but I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elkhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made this for a veggie dipping sauce for some company. The heat lovers really liked this. I used low fat Mayo and fat free Greek yogurt, and added a couple dashes of cumin. Watch the peppers because two made it pretty hot even for me a hot pepper lover. I served it with celery and carrot sticks and they helped with the spicy heat. I do think a squeeze of lime juice would be great in this next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
very very good. followed recipe first time. second time i added other suggestions- some cumin, lime juice, garlic powder. i used it as a sauce for a beef, chicken, and seafood fondue dinner. we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
It was slightly bland, but with a little creativity and guided by my own tastes, this recipe is very good. I also followed the advise of another user who recommended freezing the pureed chipotle peppers in small cubes for later use. Good tip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a simple, sweet-and-spicy rub for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States