Chipotle Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
The flavor is exactly as I had hoped--spicy, smoky, savory, and cheesy! I made exactly as written and it was perfect for me, but would be a bit too spicy for my kids. I think next time, I'll try using all regularmonterey jack with the chipotle. I topped mine with smoked paprika for color, and it was delicious! Sprinkling with cheese would have made it too rich, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Hubby and I liked this a lot. You can't go wrong with Macaroni and cheese that has a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by ItalianSpice
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I liked it but it was a bit too spicy for me. There was a LOT of cheese and cream added to it as well and although that made it creamy like I like, it was just almost too much. I'm not big on spicy but, I would recommend adding much more chipotle to this. It will give it more flavor otherwise, it may be too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is now my favorite mac & cheese or should I say Chipotle Macaroni and Cheese. Doubled the chipotle and this came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I did not care for this. It had a bitter flavour to it. Thankfully I halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I adapted the recipe to lower fat and had some lobster that I wanted to add to it. I used fat free half and half, chipotle powder instead of the pepper and half of the cheese was reduced fat cheddar and the other half, havarti (to give that rich buttery feel). For the chicken base I substituted Lobster base. Made these into appy style small plates and topped each small plate with 1 tablespoon of the pepper jack cheese before baking. Grumpy LOVED it. Very creamy and awesome flavor from the lobster base! The little bites of lobster in the dish just made it even more yummy! I feel the original recipe without changes would be high on my list also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Outstanding!!! I've only made mac&cheese from scratch once before and it was awful, but when I found this recipe I just knew I had to try it. My kids love spicy dishes so I added one extra chipotle pepper for a little more kick. I also left out the onion powder simply because I don't care for onions in any form. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was amazing! We'll definitely be adding this to our regular dinner rotation. (and I'm considering adding it to the Thanksgiving menu as well!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This stuff is addictive. My husband and I can eat a whole 9x13 pan in 24 hours. If you want to avoid gaining 10 lbs every time you make this, you may want to make a smaller batch as a side dish or invite guests to come help you eat it. We like spicy food, so we double the chipotle, and we add a pound of crumbled bacon. I also recommend having everything prepped before you start, because once you get into making the sauce, you don't have time to stop and measure ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Amazing!!! To make this a more hearty main course, I only added about 3/4 of the noodles and 5-6 cooked and shredded chicken tenders. It was so good! We like things really spicy so I added 3 chipotle peppers. It was delicious, but we were both a little sweaty by the end of the meal. Definitely adding this to my regular rotation of dinner meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I have spent years trying to find a homemade macaroni and cheese recipe that has some flavor to it. I finally found it! My husband raved about this during dinner and the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States