Chipotle Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've made these 3 or 4 times, and this year my husband requested them for his birthday, which is the true test for sweets! We love the flavors so I added some extra lemon and chipotle. The ratio of crust to custard is a little too high for my taste, so I'm working on scaling the recipe up but I'm no expert and haven't quite gotten it right. No one will complain if I practice a few more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Loved these bars, wonderful change of pace from the regular lemon bar. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My family loves lemon bars and chipotle but we just couldn't finish one of these. The texture was great so maybe I will just use it as a lemon bar recipe without the chipotle pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
The crust is enough for two 9" pans so I doubled the rest of the recipe. The only substitution I made was mango for the apricot preserves. That's a really nice touch, and the custard is good. However, the chipotle is overpowering. I LIKE chipotle and was tempted to add more after reading the other reviews but didn't for a first try. Very harsh tasting. I'll save the crust (but halve it) and I'll save the custard (but tweak it). I have tons of leftovers and that never happens with my crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
These rule -- I made them with cayenne and upped the volume of pepper and they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I really liked the surprising kick from the chipotle. It is not overwhelming either. I used the entire baking time, because at 35 minutes I could tell it hadn't set. A few more and it was perfect. The last step of the recipe can be reduced though. The 1/3 cup powdered sugar and the 1/2 tsp of the chipotle can be halved. I used it all and it makes the bar harder to eat as a bar. It requires a fork and a plate. When I make it next I will only use a dusting of that part. It's more fun to eat with your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
i was a little skeptical at first... but wow, these were really good! I almost reduced the amount of chipotle, but I am glad I didn't. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This recipe is excellent!! This is the first time I ever made lemon squares and my husband went crazy over these. The chili powder gives it something extra special. I had to substitue some orange marmalade because I didn't have enough of the apricot and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States