Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
My boyfriend and I have made this twice and will be making it again and again! The first time, I knocked down the chipotle powder by half and it was still WAY too hot for me, but not for him. The second time, I only used 1 T., added 1/2 tsp more of onion and garlic powder, and 1 T. more of brown sugar. We also marinated the pork this time in pineapple juice and brown sugar for several hours before cooking. Both times, I sprayed a large baking dish and baked at 325 until the internal temp was close to 160. Came out very juicy and with just enough spice for me this time! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
441 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMMYSAUCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Outstanding recipe! Have made this a couple of times trying to find the right mix for my family. The first time I made it, I loved it and the husband couldn't eat it. After tinkering with this recipe, here's what works for us. Marinate the pork for 24 hours in pineapple juice, minced garlic and onions, then overnight in the spice rub. I reduced the chipotle powder to 1.5 tbs and increased the brown sugar to 5 tbs. Just enough heat to keep it interesting without the extreme afterburn. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great as long as you like spicy. Cooked indoors with oven. I found the chipolte spice at Linens N Things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is a 10+. It's freakin awesome! I never grill (3 times in 10 years), but I wanted to try something new. This is very good, and I can't wait to have a family get together to make it for them. I made this roast pork last night, and used the leftover "rub" for chicken breasts on the george foreman tonight. They were terrific also. Great flavor! The pork tasted like it was cooked on a spit fire. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Tried this last night and it was excellent! I couldn't find the chipotle chile powder so used regular chili powder and cut back to 1 tbsp. Great flavors - will definitley make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I am Cajun and love spicy foods. My husband doesn't love spicy as much as me. So I cut the chipotle to 2T, thinking that would be fine. I almost killed my poor husband! Even I thought it was still a little too spicy. I will use probably 1T next time. It was very good though, and even though DH's eyes were watering and he was drinking milk to try to cut the spice, he still ate it and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I followed the recipe as written except I didn't have onion powder, so I used half an onion diced. I also marinated the pork in the spices for about 2 hours. Since there was a snowstorm outside, I made on my grill pan and it took twice as long to cook. It was well worth the wait though as this was some of the best pork I have ever had. It was spicy (my husband and I both like spicy food), but I served with some mango apple sauce and it made a great combo. Very easy recipe and tastes great, so I am definitely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandgate, Vermont, USA
Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
awesome! I used only 1 tablespoon of the chipotle and it was plenty spicy. Our favorite is to slice super thin and use in burritos. I make the Frijoles a la Charra recipe found here to use in the burritos. Add other favorite burrito ingredients (guacamole, salsa, cheese, etc) and this is a HUGE hit everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
We had a 3# tenderloin that needed to be used tonight. Decided on this recipe because we LOVE using chipotle peppers/seasoning in our cooking. Used all of the seasonings the recipe called for and then some (added Ancho Chili Powder and a few splashes of Chipotle Tabasco on each side), and let marinate for about 15 minutes. (side note...for next time, we'll let this marinate overnight) For the cooking, we opted to not use the grill tonight. Instead got out the cast iron skillet and seared on Med-High for about 4-5 minutes on each side. Then put the skillet into a 400 degree oven 25 minutes. Temp pork at 140 degrees. Removed from cast iron and let rest for 10 minutes. Carryover heat will finish it off. To make a pan sauce...reheat and deglaze with 1/2 cup of your favorite red wine (water will do, but wine is better!). (the measurements for pan sauce are NOT approximate) If you want a thicker sauce, make a slurry with 1tbs of wine and 1tbs of flour. Add to your deglazed pan. To that, add 1 1/2 tsp cumin, 2 tsp onion powder, 1tb fresh cracked black pepper, 2 tsp of salt, and a couple dashes of Chipotle Tabasco. Serve over sliced pork and enjoy!! We sure are!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Excellent and very easy. Followed the rub ingredients exactly - only change I made was to cook it under the broiler. Served it with mashed yams as another reviewer suggested and Cola Sauerkraut which is on this site. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 680) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

A great one for the grill. The sweet and spicy rub turns crispy delicious.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States