Chipotle-Citrus Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I really wanted to like this more than I did. It was indeed moist and tender, but the flavor seemed to be mostly of the juice. This was just okay for us, and not really what I was expecting. I think the large amount of liquid prevents the seasoning from being much of a contribution to the flavor. I doubled the chipotle after reading some of the comments and still did not feel that it or the garlic flavor were really present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I really think the spices in this recipe compliment the orange and lime juice! I did add a few things to my desired liking. I added freshly minced garlic, and a little bit of sugar to desired taste. The sugar really made everything else pop! I would recommend trying it this way if you like a sweet citrusy taste to your chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I followed the instructions to the letter--no substitutions--and let the chicken marinate for a full 9 hrs. I expected a more robust flavor due to the cilantro and chipotle but was sadly disappointed. It's a pretty mild flavored chicken breast that needs a whole lot of something to bring it to life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
We didn't like it. We didn't taste any of the chipotle either. Might want to up that a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was really good, marinated over night. The chipotle issue must be a taste preference, my whole family couldn't even detect any spice at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
My family and I realy enjoyed this recipe! I could not find chipotle powder so I used chipotle sauce. I would make this a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was really good. I made it exactly as written. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
The recipe only calls for 1/4 teaspoon of chipotle powder NOT 1 teaspoon--that may be the reason why ThomasG's girlfriend found it too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marijke M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
The marinade is excellent. It thoroughly flavored the chicken, and is wonderful if you like chipotle. Though it's not for the faint of heart; 1 tsp of chipotle powder made this a bit too spicy for my girlfriend. This recipe could be improved by some form of complimentary sauce. We attempted making a reduction of the marinade but it was, again, a bit too spicy for some. I personally loved the flavor and found the spiciness acceptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States