Chipotle-Citrus Marinated Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I really wanted to like this more than I did. It was indeed moist and tender, but the flavor seemed to be mostly of the juice. This was just okay for us, and not really what I was expecting. I think the large amount of liquid prevents the seasoning from being much of a contribution to the flavor. I doubled the chipotle after reading some of the comments and still did not feel that it or the garlic flavor were really present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I really think the spices in this recipe compliment the orange and lime juice! I did add a few things to my desired liking. I added freshly minced garlic, and a little bit of sugar to desired taste. The sugar really made everything else pop! I would recommend trying it this way if you like a sweet citrusy taste to your chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I followed the instructions to the letter--no substitutions--and let the chicken marinate for a full 9 hrs. I expected a more robust flavor due to the cilantro and chipotle but was sadly disappointed. It's a pretty mild flavored chicken breast that needs a whole lot of something to bring it to life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
We didn't like it. We didn't taste any of the chipotle either. Might want to up that a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was really good, marinated over night. The chipotle issue must be a taste preference, my whole family couldn't even detect any spice at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
My family and I realy enjoyed this recipe! I could not find chipotle powder so I used chipotle sauce. I would make this a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was really good. I made it exactly as written. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
The recipe only calls for 1/4 teaspoon of chipotle powder NOT 1 teaspoon--that may be the reason why ThomasG's girlfriend found it too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marijke M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
The marinade is excellent. It thoroughly flavored the chicken, and is wonderful if you like chipotle. Though it's not for the faint of heart; 1 tsp of chipotle powder made this a bit too spicy for my girlfriend. This recipe could be improved by some form of complimentary sauce. We attempted making a reduction of the marinade but it was, again, a bit too spicy for some. I personally loved the flavor and found the spiciness acceptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Firehouse Marinated Grilled Chicken & Arugula Sa

Watch the crew of East Naples, Florida, prepare marinated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States