Chipotle Chile and Blue Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
It was great, and very simple. I also added rstd red peppers w/ the chipotles. I used it as a pasta sauce, but I can't wait to try it on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Sorry, this was not my cup of tea. I love hot foods but this was over the top and the blue cheese and peppers dont make a good combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
If you don't like very spicy food, you probably want to stay away from this recipe - the chipotle/adobe sauce is incredibly hot! Even though Husband loves spice, he didn't much like this at all, saying he wouldn't mind a creamy chipotle sauce OR a creamy blue cheese and chive sauce, but together, it just didn't work. It didn't look very appetizing either. Oh well. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
The chipotle-blue cheese combination is an inspired idea, but I preferred sour cream as a base. Also, you must be extremely careful with the amount of chipotles you use. I don't even use the peppers; just about 3 tsp of adobo sauce. I add chopped fresh cilantro, and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I thought this sauce was pretty good. Personally, I didn't think it was too hot. We eat spicy foods quiet often... so maybe that is why. I was worried about it being too spicy when I read the reviews before trying the recipe. I went ahead and used the peppers anyway, but I made sure that I did not include the seeds. Next time I will include the seeds to give it more of a kick. The flavor was really good though. We used this sauce on homemade burgers with thick, crispy bacon and it was wonderful. Oh yeah- I also made homemade steak fries for the side dish and this sauce was fantastic drizzled over the top of the crispy fries. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is amazing!!!!! Spicy and smokey! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This didn't turn out well and the flavors didn't keep well. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeschu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
We drizzled this over steak. We definitely recommend using it with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen Pen
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
After reading the reviews I was very curious how we would like it. And I have to say we did. I added Chipotle peppers to taste and used a mild blue cheese. Also added some flour to thicken it a bit. Definitely a recipe I will make again, but will tweak it some more to our taste. Perhaps some cheddar or gouda in addition to the blue cheese to make it a little cheesier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States