Chipotle Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Wow, what a great recipe! I used the full amount of peppers (including seeds), and it was about as hot as we can comfortably eat, will use slightly less next time. Best advice in other reviews was to use corn instead of spinach -- the corn and sour cream sauce really makes this whole dish come alive, and I normally won't even touch sour cream. We served this with refried beans & shredded cheese, which were perfect to cool down your mouth between bites! Definitely try this recipe; even if you want to cut way down on the peppers, the flavor will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This is one of the best recipies we've tried from allrecipies.com! We followed some of the suggestions and removed some of the chipotle seeds, reduced the amount of spinach, and added corn. We had it with rice and refried beans. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
This has fast become one of my favorite recipes. I have made it 3 times in the past month and have forwarded it to everyone I know who enjoys a good spicy meal. I use the whole can of chipotles, however I find it helpful to remove most of the seeds from the peppers. Don't serve this to anyone who doesn't dig spicy food. But those who do will love you for it. I find it best to marinade the chicken before I go to work -- so when I get home, I only have about 20 minutes of cooking to do. Many thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
Definitely one for spice lovers! This was the first recipe I tried with chipotle peppers .. finding them was difficult! I scaled the recipe down to 2, used 1/2 can of peppers (after removing the seeds) ... was a *little* too hot. Next time I will use one less pepper. I also used a little less spinach. My oven must be strange, but I had to broil the chicken WAY longer .. more like 12 mins per side. On the whole though we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I altered the recipe somewhat. I used half the can of peppers (without seeds) and froze the remainder for another time. After marinating, we grilled the chicken. I sauted the spinich in the marinade with broth. I added the sour cream in at the end. My husband and I LOVED IT!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This was soooo good!!! We had a cookout and everyone said how incredible this chicken was. I started out with a cajun based chicken breast. This was delicious and my husband has already asked for me to make it again and the leftovers aren't even gone yet!!! Thanks again!!!! I made this with the angel hair pasta salad (very easy too) and it complimented the chicken wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Great but VERY spicy. I love hot things and this was right up there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I have found it difficult to satisfy my new husband's love of spicy foods. However, this one did the trick for him. He ate it so fast I could barely tell that it had been on his plate. Delicious! The trick for us was substituting corn for the spinach like others had suggested--a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I'm giving this 5 stars because my husband absolutely loved it! The rest of the family (including me) give it 4 stars because it was so hot... wow! Great smoky flavor, but just beware this has some intense heat. I did add frozen corn and green beans to the recipe and reduced the spinach by 1/2. The kids and I used extra sour cream at the table to cut the fire. I also made cornbread which was a nice addition. Oh, as another reviewer mentioned, the time under the broiler wasn't nearly long enough to cook the chicken... I ended up baking it for an additional 30 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
loved the flavors in this. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States