Chipotle Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I love, love, love this recipe! It uses ingredients I have on hand all the time, except the cilantro. In a pinch, I leave the cilantro out. If you are using frozen chicken, just throw it into a pot and boil the breasts until done - you can even over-cook them at this process to tender them up. Once cooked, drain the water and remove chicken. Shred or dice chicken, then return to the same pot with onions and continue recipe from there (no need to add olive oil if you do it this way). By the way, I was bummed I wasted the chipotles so many times, so I discovered you can used dried chipotle powder instead and it is just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was great! I loved the chipotle flavoring. The only thing I added was some sour cream on top and an extra can of black beans. Next time I won't use as much onion. It was a little too much for my taste. I'll be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
One of the BEST! Love it! Pretty healthy, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETSY
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was super easy and fast to make. I used chicken stock instead of water. Also I used a can of chipotles. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I love this recipe! This is a great crockpot recipe. Add all of the ingredients to the crock pot and cook on low if you will be out for at least 7 hours. I usually add frozen corn and chicken breasts and add whole garlic cloves and rough chop my onion. I add a whole can of chipotle in adobe sauce but remove the chilies, garlic clove, and onion chucks at the end of cooking time. I place the chipotle, garlic, and onion in the blender and blend it into a sause. I love the soup as is but my husband loves to add my chipotle sauce in order to increase the heat. When serving this meal, I always have bowls of extras at the table - home made chipotle sauce, tortillas strips (for hearty tortilla soup), sour cream (for those like it creamier), and limes. A winner for busy moms and warms your body and soul on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
So easy it should be in Rachel Ray cookbook. We whip this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Adobo sauce gives this a great flavor and it's spicy. I added lime juice to match similar soups I've eaten in Mexico. Soup is ready in minutes! I used 2 boneless chick. breasts. My modification: used chicken broth, lots of garlic, skipped corn and beans (didn't have) and sugar; added zucchini, bit of salt and juice of 1-2 limes. Ready in minutes. Will serve with Mexican white cheese (queso fresco) and tortilla strips (soup is similar to some tortilla soups I had in Mexico) Note: it calls for the sauce from the can of the adobo with chili, not the chili and that alone is spicy. You can add chile but cautiously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Awesome soup. I boiled 2 frozen chicken breasts, used the broth from that, used a large can of pureed tomatoes because I didn't have two canned of diced, and used about half a can of chipotles with sauce I had leftover in the fridge, simply running them thru a small food processor. Had the cilantro on the side (son is allergic) Very good, nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This soup is very yummy, but I changed a few things. I used chicken stock instead of water and half of the tomatoes. And added some powdered chipotle seasoning for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I put in three of the chipotle chiles in minced and let is simmer on low flame for a few minutes to let the flavours meld together, and it came out incredibly flavourful! It was a perfect meal to make if you have some staples in your pantry that have just been sitting there. Most of the ingredients I had on hand, so there was little shopping involved and it was very inexpensive to make. One of those things you can just put together on a tuesday night after work, it's easy to do, you can feed a lot of people with a salad on the side. One of the best I've used from this site for ease and comfort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States