Chipotle Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I love, love, love this recipe! It uses ingredients I have on hand all the time, except the cilantro. In a pinch, I leave the cilantro out. If you are using frozen chicken, just throw it into a pot and boil the breasts until done - you can even over-cook them at this process to tender them up. Once cooked, drain the water and remove chicken. Shred or dice chicken, then return to the same pot with onions and continue recipe from there (no need to add olive oil if you do it this way). By the way, I was bummed I wasted the chipotles so many times, so I discovered you can used dried chipotle powder instead and it is just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I love this recipe! This is a great crockpot recipe. Add all of the ingredients to the crock pot and cook on low if you will be out for at least 7 hours. I usually add frozen corn and chicken breasts and add whole garlic cloves and rough chop my onion. I add a whole can of chipotle in adobe sauce but remove the chilies, garlic clove, and onion chucks at the end of cooking time. I place the chipotle, garlic, and onion in the blender and blend it into a sause. I love the soup as is but my husband loves to add my chipotle sauce in order to increase the heat. When serving this meal, I always have bowls of extras at the table - home made chipotle sauce, tortillas strips (for hearty tortilla soup), sour cream (for those like it creamier), and limes. A winner for busy moms and warms your body and soul on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Four stars, but only after major tweaks to keep it from being bland. I lightly seasoned the uncooked chicken pieces with poultry seasoning before sauteeing in a pan. Added the chopped onion, plenty of minced garlic and also half of a chopped red bell pepper. I used two adobo chili peppers and about 2 tablespoons of sauce (from a can). Used a can of Rotel for more flavor; also added 1/4 crushed red pepper flakes, 1/4 tsp. dried basil, 1/2 tsp. ground cumin, 1 tsp salt and one 4 oz. can chopped green chilies. Added a sprinkling of cornstarch to thicken it up a little. It was only after all of these additions did it seem like it would be enjoyable; before the changes it was bland and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Chipotle Chicken Soup Haiku: "Wow, was this tasty! Don't skimp on the cilantro. This one's a keeper!" To elaborate, this recipe's good on its own, but brings the "shazam!" with my 2 small additions of a heaping TB of "Taco Seasoning I" recipe from here, as well as a diced bell pepper. Garnished with a scoop of sour cream, a sprinkle of grated cheddar, and a handful of crushed tortilla chips, and this soup'll slay your tastebuds with its sensual spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I tried this recipe this past weekend. My son and husband were very skeptical but I assured them it would be good. I topped it with a sprinkle of cheese and served it with tortilla chips. They were astounded! Fabulous!!!! :) Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alden, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Really Good. I only put one can of diced tomatos & also put a can of green chilis. Served with avocado on the top & warmed up flour tortillias on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Just a few minor tweaks to this recipe to make it a little more "user friendly" and healthy. 1) Cook or poach your chicken in the water to make your own sodium free broth. 2) Use frozen corn (no sodium), 3) make chipotle paste - puree a can of chipotles with adobo & keep in jar in frig and 4) use frozen cilantro cubes. I buy these cubes at my local "natural, organic market". They are imported from Israel and come in a little tray that looks like a mini ice cube tray. It's kept in the freezer & easy to pop out a cube which is equal to one tsp of cilantro. Just add it to the broth. Yummy recipe and I serve it with refried bean & cheese quesadilla's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This soup is very yummy, but I changed a few things. I used chicken stock instead of water and half of the tomatoes. And added some powdered chipotle seasoning for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was very tasty. I boiled frozen chicken breasts in water seasoned with cumin and dried cilantro, and then shredded the chicken. I also used all the juices in the chipotle pepper can, and lightened the flavor with lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty. I used diced tomatoes with chiles, 3 cloves of garlic, and added a little bit of cumin for extra flavor. I also used chicken broth instead of water, just under 2 cups, because I prefer soup that is not very watery. I served with sour cream, fresh grated cheddar, and tortilla chips. My son won't eat spicy food, but I love Mexican flavors, so I made it anyway. I had plenty of leftovers which were easy to freeze. I like having meals ready to go in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States