Chipotle Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty. I used diced tomatoes with chiles, 3 cloves of garlic, and added a little bit of cumin for extra flavor. I also used chicken broth instead of water, just under 2 cups, because I prefer soup that is not very watery. I served with sour cream, fresh grated cheddar, and tortilla chips. My son won't eat spicy food, but I love Mexican flavors, so I made it anyway. I had plenty of leftovers which were easy to freeze. I like having meals ready to go in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Really Good. I only put one can of diced tomatos & also put a can of green chilis. Served with avocado on the top & warmed up flour tortillias on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Wow, this was the best soup that I have ever made! My family raved about it and now wants me to make it once a week. I found it so easy and quick to make as well. Then only change I made was to use coriander as I didn't have any cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Yumm.....used more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I put in three of the chipotle chiles in minced and let is simmer on low flame for a few minutes to let the flavours meld together, and it came out incredibly flavourful! It was a perfect meal to make if you have some staples in your pantry that have just been sitting there. Most of the ingredients I had on hand, so there was little shopping involved and it was very inexpensive to make. One of those things you can just put together on a tuesday night after work, it's easy to do, you can feed a lot of people with a salad on the side. One of the best I've used from this site for ease and comfort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This soup is very yummy, but I changed a few things. I used chicken stock instead of water and half of the tomatoes. And added some powdered chipotle seasoning for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Awesome soup. I boiled 2 frozen chicken breasts, used the broth from that, used a large can of pureed tomatoes because I didn't have two canned of diced, and used about half a can of chipotles with sauce I had leftover in the fridge, simply running them thru a small food processor. Had the cilantro on the side (son is allergic) Very good, nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Adobo sauce gives this a great flavor and it's spicy. I added lime juice to match similar soups I've eaten in Mexico. Soup is ready in minutes! I used 2 boneless chick. breasts. My modification: used chicken broth, lots of garlic, skipped corn and beans (didn't have) and sugar; added zucchini, bit of salt and juice of 1-2 limes. Ready in minutes. Will serve with Mexican white cheese (queso fresco) and tortilla strips (soup is similar to some tortilla soups I had in Mexico) Note: it calls for the sauce from the can of the adobo with chili, not the chili and that alone is spicy. You can add chile but cautiously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Just a few minor tweaks to this recipe to make it a little more "user friendly" and healthy. 1) Cook or poach your chicken in the water to make your own sodium free broth. 2) Use frozen corn (no sodium), 3) make chipotle paste - puree a can of chipotles with adobo & keep in jar in frig and 4) use frozen cilantro cubes. I buy these cubes at my local "natural, organic market". They are imported from Israel and come in a little tray that looks like a mini ice cube tray. It's kept in the freezer & easy to pop out a cube which is equal to one tsp of cilantro. Just add it to the broth. Yummy recipe and I serve it with refried bean & cheese quesadilla's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Four stars, but only after major tweaks to keep it from being bland. I lightly seasoned the uncooked chicken pieces with poultry seasoning before sauteeing in a pan. Added the chopped onion, plenty of minced garlic and also half of a chopped red bell pepper. I used two adobo chili peppers and about 2 tablespoons of sauce (from a can). Used a can of Rotel for more flavor; also added 1/4 crushed red pepper flakes, 1/4 tsp. dried basil, 1/2 tsp. ground cumin, 1 tsp salt and one 4 oz. can chopped green chilies. Added a sprinkling of cornstarch to thicken it up a little. It was only after all of these additions did it seem like it would be enjoyable; before the changes it was bland and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States