Chipotle Burgers with Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
SPICY! This is for the 'heat' lovers in the family, that is for sure! I blended the chipotle peppers and sauce in the food processor and added to 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef instead of 1 pound. Knowing that the burgers would be hot I did NOT add the jalapeno to the salsa. A slice of Jack cheese would balance the heat well. These burgers were a little wet and didn't hold together well on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
We LOVED the avocado salsa made exactly as recipe specified! The burgers were awesome...the mushrooms kept them so moist. However, though we love spicy, we dediced to use just two of the chipotle peppers and some of the sauce for 1 lb of hamburger and they had the perfect amount of heat for us. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janee'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
A whole 7oz. can of chipotle peppers would blow my flip flops right off, so I only chopped up two peppers (and we like heat). I'm not sure about the whole bunch of cilantro either, My bunch is pretty big. I just chopped a good handful up. I've learned when you add a lot of extra ingredient into a burger it will fall apart on the grill. The way to avoid this it to put your patties in the freezer on wax paper for at least a couple hours before grilling. They aren't frozen but solid enough to not crumble when cooking. Works every time for us. I got lazy and just put the slices of the salsa ingredients on top, squirted the fresh lime on it and topped with more of the cilantro. Worked great and didn't fall all over the place when eating. This is really a great burger, so much so my son asked to have these again for his birthday dinner BBQ. Five stars if you reduce the amount of peppers... Update, I've made this burger with ground turkey twice now and the mushrooms give it such a moist good flavor. I still haven't had any trouble with them falling apart on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
BEST BURGERS EVER! From now on this is the only way burgers are made in my house. The time estimate for the prep is WAY off. De-seeding and chopping a can of chipotle is very time consuming. Every can of adobo chipotle peppers varies and you never know what you are going to get heat wise, so unless you like it really, really hot, I would advise using 1/2 a can/pound beef and playing it safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I had to throw together a last minute meal for a friend coming over and this was PERFECT! I used my own burger recipe (onions, garlic, worcestershire) and added the cilantro. I didn't use jalapeno peppers in the salsa, but next time I will add one or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KendraDarigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Taste wise this is great. The avocado salsa compliments the burger very much and we enjoy the heat from both the salsa and the chipotle peppers in the burger. BUT, what's the deal with the patty not sticking together?? Should there be an egg in there? Also, like every other reviewers, I only used about half a can of the chipotle peppers. I thought the whole can might be too much for 1 lb of beef...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Enjoyed the new format and it is easier to read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
My husband and I have been making chipotle burgers for years now our boys love them. We mix in 1/3 ground pork, it makes them very moist and we dont use a whole can. we chop the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and use about half a can of the mixture or 1/2 cup for a total of 5lbs of meat. we make 1/2 pound burgers out of the mixture(we like em big), we grate an onion with a box grater this helps the onion mix in to the meat well. we don't use cilantro or mushrooms but we do add eggs and italien bread crumbs...you have to play with it for your own family to get it just right. They freeze great if you place parchment(cut into burger size squares) between each 1/2 lb patty them wrap in plastic wrap and place in a zipper freezer bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
The way to make the burgers stick is to take a piece of bread and toast it very dark. Then in a bowl, put a little bit of warm water, put the toast in till you mash it up and throw it in the meat. Im sure bread crumbs would work just as well. Bread is always handy for me, and it works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Like many others, I found that it was too much chipotle peppers and cilantro. I baked the burgers at 350, but found it took almost an hour to bake through. Next time I'll try it on a higher temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States