Chipotle Beef Tostadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Very good. I used Butterball fresh ground turkey instead of the beef. I also added tomatoes to the toppings and a bed of spinach on the tostadas but other then that I made this as written easy and delicious. A keeper in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would! I accidentally picked up chipotle sauce instead of chipotles in adobo sauce (they are in the same can), so I just omitted the water and used 1/2 can of that, which worked out great! The guys could not get enough of these...they kept saying how delicious they were, and hubby even said it is one of his new favorites (this is HUGE, lol). I served these w/ all the topping that usually serve with our tacos. This is a definite keeper, that I know I will be making often~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 19, April 2014 ~ I admit to being a little weirded-out about the thought of potatoes in my Mexican food. I tried it anyways, and we loved the combination. I halved the recipe and it made more than enough for the 3 meals for my husband and I. That's a good thing, now he has lunches this week! We did not find the meat the least bit spicy despite the chipotle peppers and adobo sauce. When serving, I layered the shells, shredded lettuce, the meat mixture, cheese, tomatoes, avocado, sour cream and a squeeze of fresh lime juice. A wonderful meal that will be a great summer addition to our menu when feeding a lot of people at the lake. Thanks, cookingmakesmesmile for sharing your recipe. This was a very good recipe group pick this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very very tasty! At first I thought it was going to be too spicy for me because I had my husband test the can of chiplotes for me since I'm a spice whimp. But once it was all put together it was perfect. I enjoyed the diced potatoes in it, as did everyone at my table. Topped my lightly toasted tostadas with cheese, lettuce, diced tomatoes, onion, sour cream and avocados. So yummy! Served with Spanish rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Did this for recipe group. We really liked it. It seemed to be crying out for something tomatoey. DS added salsa and hubby and I, chopped tomatoes. I was a bit freaked out by using potatoes but they were a nice addition. I have a heat wimp in the house who did not find this too spicy but I think it was on the border. I like recipes that aren't complicated or take too long. This was a good one. She's a keeper. Thanks cookingmakesmesmile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Awesome recipe. Perfect as written. We added a layer of refried beans to the tostada to stretch the meal, but the meat mixture fantastic by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I made this for Recipe Group and it was a good choice. I thought we would miss the flavor of "taco seasoning" in the beef but we didn't miss it at all! My fiancé and I thought the flavor from the chipotle peppers and sauce gave the mixture a wonderful, smokey, full flavor. The inclusion of chopped potatoes gave it an additional texture and taste that we both enjoyed. We added cheese, salsa and sour cream on top. I only wish I had avocados to add to the meal. Next time I will! I had a bit left for the next day and served in a warmed, soft flour tortilla. It was good too. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made this for Recipe Group. I really liked this and plan to make it again. I was afraid the sauce would make it too spicy, so I took some of the meat out for my son before adding the sauce. However, I didn't think it was very spicy after cooking and think DS would have been fine with it. My hubby wasn't too excited about the potatoes in it, but I thought they were great. We added our favorite taco toppings on top too, and that made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
i made this recipe a few nights ago. it was very good. i added a little bit of refried beans on the tostada then topped with everything. i accidentally added too much heat for my liking so ill have to adjust the spiciness next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I used Johnsonville's Italian sausage instead of the ground beef. I chose this recipe because tostadas are one of my favorite Mexican comfort food and bring me back memories of my childhood in Mexico. Johnsonville's mild Italian sausage was perfect for this.I only used half of a tablespoon of olive oil as the sausage can be oily and sauteed some garlic as well with the onions and potatoes. I didn't need to season the meat because it is spicy enough as it is. I substituted the chipotle peppers for the chipotle sauce that comes in a can which is much milder. I spread some re-fried beans on top of the tostada and used lettuce, red onion, sour cream, Mexican crumbling fresh cheese, the sausage with potatoes and avocado as toppings. It was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States