Chipotle Beef Tostadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 19, April 2014 ~ I admit to being a little weirded-out about the thought of potatoes in my Mexican food. I tried it anyways, and we loved the combination. I halved the recipe and it made more than enough for the 3 meals for my husband and I. That's a good thing, now he has lunches this week! We did not find the meat the least bit spicy despite the chipotle peppers and adobo sauce. When serving, I layered the shells, shredded lettuce, the meat mixture, cheese, tomatoes, avocado, sour cream and a squeeze of fresh lime juice. A wonderful meal that will be a great summer addition to our menu when feeding a lot of people at the lake. Thanks, cookingmakesmesmile for sharing your recipe. This was a very good recipe group pick this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Very good. I used Butterball fresh ground turkey instead of the beef. I also added tomatoes to the toppings and a bed of spinach on the tostadas but other then that I made this as written easy and delicious. A keeper in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very very tasty! At first I thought it was going to be too spicy for me because I had my husband test the can of chiplotes for me since I'm a spice whimp. But once it was all put together it was perfect. I enjoyed the diced potatoes in it, as did everyone at my table. Topped my lightly toasted tostadas with cheese, lettuce, diced tomatoes, onion, sour cream and avocados. So yummy! Served with Spanish rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would! I accidentally picked up chipotle sauce instead of chipotles in adobo sauce (they are in the same can), so I just omitted the water and used 1/2 can of that, which worked out great! The guys could not get enough of these...they kept saying how delicious they were, and hubby even said it is one of his new favorites (this is HUGE, lol). I served these w/ all the topping that usually serve with our tacos. This is a definite keeper, that I know I will be making often~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Awesome recipe. Perfect as written. We added a layer of refried beans to the tostada to stretch the meal, but the meat mixture fantastic by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Recipe Group: everyone at the dinner table agreed that this was delicious! I cut the recipe in half, and the portions are very generous; had enough beef for 6 or 7 tostadas, not just 4. I'm not gonna lie, never used chipotle in adobo before, I was nervous because DS and I don't care for hot stuff...however, this dish was not spicy and DBF had to add salsa to his. Served with rice that had corn, tomatoes and cumin stirred in, very good and would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I tried this recipe for my family tonight. There are 5 of us so I doubled the recipe to insure left overs. My husband and I enjoyed the recipe. I'm sorry I can't say the same for my kids. They love tacos so I thought this would be a nice variation. Way too spicy for my kids. I only used 3 chipotle peppers and added a small jar of roasted sweet peppers. Next time I'll substitute all chipotle for roasted sweet red peppers. 4 stars for adults and fail for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
i made this recipe a few nights ago. it was very good. i added a little bit of refried beans on the tostada then topped with everything. i accidentally added too much heat for my liking so ill have to adjust the spiciness next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I made this for Recipe Group and it was a good choice. I thought we would miss the flavor of "taco seasoning" in the beef but we didn't miss it at all! My fiancé and I thought the flavor from the chipotle peppers and sauce gave the mixture a wonderful, smokey, full flavor. The inclusion of chopped potatoes gave it an additional texture and taste that we both enjoyed. We added cheese, salsa and sour cream on top. I only wish I had avocados to add to the meal. Next time I will! I had a bit left for the next day and served in a warmed, soft flour tortilla. It was good too. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Recipe Group selection for April 19, 2014 – This had a kick! We thought it was very tasty, with the exception of my husband who thought it was too spicy. I served the beef on shredded lettuce and topped with the Mexican cheese blend, avocado, sour cream, and salsa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States