Chipotle Beef Tostadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 19, April 2014 ~ I admit to being a little weirded-out about the thought of potatoes in my Mexican food. I tried it anyways, and we loved the combination. I halved the recipe and it made more than enough for the 3 meals for my husband and I. That's a good thing, now he has lunches this week! We did not find the meat the least bit spicy despite the chipotle peppers and adobo sauce. When serving, I layered the shells, shredded lettuce, the meat mixture, cheese, tomatoes, avocado, sour cream and a squeeze of fresh lime juice. A wonderful meal that will be a great summer addition to our menu when feeding a lot of people at the lake. Thanks, cookingmakesmesmile for sharing your recipe. This was a very good recipe group pick this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Very good. I used Butterball fresh ground turkey instead of the beef. I also added tomatoes to the toppings and a bed of spinach on the tostadas but other then that I made this as written easy and delicious. A keeper in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very very tasty! At first I thought it was going to be too spicy for me because I had my husband test the can of chiplotes for me since I'm a spice whimp. But once it was all put together it was perfect. I enjoyed the diced potatoes in it, as did everyone at my table. Topped my lightly toasted tostadas with cheese, lettuce, diced tomatoes, onion, sour cream and avocados. So yummy! Served with Spanish rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would! I accidentally picked up chipotle sauce instead of chipotles in adobo sauce (they are in the same can), so I just omitted the water and used 1/2 can of that, which worked out great! The guys could not get enough of these...they kept saying how delicious they were, and hubby even said it is one of his new favorites (this is HUGE, lol). I served these w/ all the topping that usually serve with our tacos. This is a definite keeper, that I know I will be making often~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Awesome recipe. Perfect as written. We added a layer of refried beans to the tostada to stretch the meal, but the meat mixture fantastic by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Recipe Group: everyone at the dinner table agreed that this was delicious! I cut the recipe in half, and the portions are very generous; had enough beef for 6 or 7 tostadas, not just 4. I'm not gonna lie, never used chipotle in adobo before, I was nervous because DS and I don't care for hot stuff...however, this dish was not spicy and DBF had to add salsa to his. Served with rice that had corn, tomatoes and cumin stirred in, very good and would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This. Stuff. ROCKED! SO good! At first, I was a little worried about the spiciness of the meat/potato combo, but by the time you assemble the tostado with (in our case refried beans), lettuce, tomato, avocado, cheese, and sour cream, you don't even notice the heat ... just that lovely lovely chipolte smokiness. YYUUMMM! Who would've though potatoes would work SO well on a tostado???? Can't thank you enough for recipe! Oh - side note we also cut recipe in half and there was more than enough for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This was perfectly delicious. End of story. Made it exactly like the recipe, only I made half as much. Was more than enough for my husband and me, with plenty of leftovers. Spicy, but not too spicy. The potatoes add a nice texture and flavor, and it was easy to make. This is a DEFINITE keeper for us. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I used Johnsonville's Italian sausage instead of the ground beef. I chose this recipe because tostadas are one of my favorite Mexican comfort food and bring me back memories of my childhood in Mexico. Johnsonville's mild Italian sausage was perfect for this.I only used half of a tablespoon of olive oil as the sausage can be oily and sauteed some garlic as well with the onions and potatoes. I didn't need to season the meat because it is spicy enough as it is. I substituted the chipotle peppers for the chipotle sauce that comes in a can which is much milder. I spread some re-fried beans on top of the tostada and used lettuce, red onion, sour cream, Mexican crumbling fresh cheese, the sausage with potatoes and avocado as toppings. It was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I tried this recipe for my family tonight. There are 5 of us so I doubled the recipe to insure left overs. My husband and I enjoyed the recipe. I'm sorry I can't say the same for my kids. They love tacos so I thought this would be a nice variation. Way too spicy for my kids. I only used 3 chipotle peppers and added a small jar of roasted sweet peppers. Next time I'll substitute all chipotle for roasted sweet red peppers. 4 stars for adults and fail for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States