Chip Truck Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These came out fantastic! I SOOO didn't want to fry potatoes tonite and I only had 30 minutes until I wanted to be serving my bbq pork sammies and cole slaw, but needed something else for a side dish. I used my apple corer to make some quick potato wedges, covered 'em in water and threw 'em in the microwave for 5 min. I sprayed the baking sheet with oil, dried the taters with a paper towel and sprayed again with oil after putting them on the sheet, then sprinkled on the season salt. 25 min at 400 deg made these nice and crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. I WILL NEVER FRY POTATOES AGAIN!! Thanks so much :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I use Johnny's Seasoning Salt in this recipe and add a little fresh ground pepper. This is one of our favorite ways (and my go-to recipe) for jo-jo potatoes. There's never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
so easy and tasty -- I tried it with the small golden potatoes -- yummy 2nd review -- tonight I used russet potatoes and soaked the peeled and sliced potatoes in four cups of water and 3/4 cup sugar for about 15-20 minutes. Dried them on a dish towel and then followed the rest of this recipe. Crispier. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
These are pretty good despite the fact that I accidentally went overboard with the salt..woops! The kids went crazy for these 'hot chippies' as we call them here. They seemed to take forever to brown so don't make them if you're in a hurry. I left the skins on too which worked rather well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made this recipe last night, my only suggestion is turn the fries once or twice during baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I love potatoes, and this is an easy way to fix them! I use olive oil instead of vegitable oil and I love how they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Hmm...Well, I've never had fries from a truck on the street, but these weren't half bad. My husband said they were surprisingly good...and he is a potato connisseur. I would probably make them again...but personally I prefer the bagged fries from the frozen foods department at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Simple way to make homemade French fries without frying them. I very seldom make fries, so my family was thrilled to see these on the dinner table. I cut them thin so they would be crispy (the way my family enjoys them) and used less oil. I put the fries on the cookie sheet and lightly drizzled with oil until they were coated and then added the seasoned salt. I did flip 2 times while baking to achieve the color and crispiness I wanted. Family loved them, and that is all that mattered. The fries were served with ‘BAR CHICKS – Blackened Chicken Sliders’ another AR recipe. I would make fries with this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
very good! A bit too salty though! We also used olive oil and everyone loved them! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Everyone went back for seconds. I'll make again, but think I overdid veg. oil (didn't measure) so they could've been crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Duck Fat Steak Fries

Duck fat is the key to incredibly crisp baked steak fries.

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States