Chip Truck Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
so easy and tasty -- I tried it with the small golden potatoes -- yummy 2nd review -- tonight I used russet potatoes and soaked the peeled and sliced potatoes in four cups of water and 3/4 cup sugar for about 15-20 minutes. Dried them on a dish towel and then followed the rest of this recipe. Crispier. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Hmm...Well, I've never had fries from a truck on the street, but these weren't half bad. My husband said they were surprisingly good...and he is a potato connisseur. I would probably make them again...but personally I prefer the bagged fries from the frozen foods department at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
These are pretty good despite the fact that I accidentally went overboard with the salt..woops! The kids went crazy for these 'hot chippies' as we call them here. They seemed to take forever to brown so don't make them if you're in a hurry. I left the skins on too which worked rather well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These came out fantastic! I SOOO didn't want to fry potatoes tonite and I only had 30 minutes until I wanted to be serving my bbq pork sammies and cole slaw, but needed something else for a side dish. I used my apple corer to make some quick potato wedges, covered 'em in water and threw 'em in the microwave for 5 min. I sprayed the baking sheet with oil, dried the taters with a paper towel and sprayed again with oil after putting them on the sheet, then sprinkled on the season salt. 25 min at 400 deg made these nice and crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. I WILL NEVER FRY POTATOES AGAIN!! Thanks so much :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Pretty good. I like these when I am trying to make quick french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovedinak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
These were yummy, easy, and way healthier than regular fries. Will make lots more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I love potatoes, and this is an easy way to fix them! I use olive oil instead of vegitable oil and I love how they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great idea! I cut mine a little smaller because I just used two potatoes, but this was a great way to avoid the hot boiling oil thing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
We love these!! So simple and quick, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States