Chinese Tea Leaf Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Quite bland. I know the taste is supposed to be subtle but there was really no discernable taste. I followed the recipe almost exactly (used orange zest instead of tangerine). I can see using this recipe to make deviled eggs - they would be beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
i have made these for years and love them, adding the anise, cinnamon and lemon was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Pretty to look at. A lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
The patterns that emerge on these eggs are beautiful and unique they have a very interesting taste, too. I'm glad I remembered this recipe in time for Easter. I think my young daughter will enjoy cracking the shells and then eating the eggs later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I didn't have the patience to boil the entire concoction for 3 hours. Instead, I boiled it just long enough for the eggs to be cool enough to handle. Then I cracked the eggs and put them in and simmered for about 30 minutes. I did let them soak in the sauce overnight and stored them in the fridge that way, taking them out one by one only when we were going to eat them. Also, I found the recipe could be a little saltier for our taste. Otherwise, this recipe is quite yummy. The flavor is meant to be subtle, so it's not for everyone. But my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
very nice recipe. Mine did not come out with a ton of flavor, but they were BEAUTIFUL! A bit labor intensive for something without a huge punch of flavor but certainly something nice to take to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silenceinwinter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These are so WONDERFUL!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancerini
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Wonderful flavor! I omitted the star anise (didn't have it) and used only black vinegar. No soy or salt. Threw in 2 Orange-Spiced Black Tea bags and let the eggs marinate for a week. EGG-CELLENT recipe! I will definitely be making these again... in larger batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These turned out lovely. When I first peeled them, the crackles were a very light color, but I noticed that after a couple of hours, the color deepened. I guess oxidation lent itself to some beautiful results! It's not very flavorful, but my family enjoyed it nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States